Apply By: Wednesday, February 9, 2022 11:59 pm EST
Competition Status: Posting Cancelled

Fewer than thirty individuals applied for this opportunity.

Due to operational reasons the recruitment for this position has been cancelled.

To look for other job opportunities that match your skills and experience go to Job Search. You may also subscribe to our Job Alert service to receive emails when new jobs open up that match your determined search criteria.

Thank you for your interest in the Ontario Public Service.

SENIOR MEDIATOR - BILINGUAL

Organization:
Ministry of Labour, Training and Skills Development
Division:
Labour Relations Solutions Division
City:
Toronto
Job Term:
1 Permanent
Job Code:
I1009C - Legal/Regulatory50
Salary:
$80,595.00 - $117,142.00 Per Year
Posting Status:
Open
Job ID:
171261
The Dispute Resolution Services Branch of the Ministry of Labour, Training and Skills Development seeks a bilingual individual with extensive experience in a lead role in collective agreement negotiations and administration, and with extensive experience in labour relations generally, to provide neutral, third-party assistance to employers and trade unions in the areas of collective bargaining, grievance mediation and proactive labour relations skills, training and development.

What can I expect to do in this role?

You will:
• provide neutral, third-party mediation services to employers and trade unions during collective bargaining to assist the parties in reaching a collective agreement and avoiding work stoppages
• assist employers and trade unions in resolving significant labour relations issues that may arise during collective bargaining and may have a serious economic impact in a sector or the economy as a whole
• explain to the parties the application of relevant labour relations legislation, the statutory purpose of conciliation and mediation processes, and the role of the mediator
• monitor work stoppages through ongoing communications with the parties in order to assess the appropriateness of further meetings to resolve the dispute
• provide preventive labour relations services, including labour relations training
• deliver programs such as conferences and facilitation
• provide mediation services to employers and trade unions to resolve grievances
• provide timely updates and reports to management, as required
• participate in special assignments upon request, which may include speaking engagements, professional development and training of new mediation staff
• manage a busy calendar, itinerary and a wide variety of travel arrangements, booking meeting rooms and accommodations
• ensure timely and accurate maintenance of files using an electronic file management system
• work closely with administrative staff to ensure prompt and effective case management
• prepare timely and accurate expense filing and related administrative processes
• step in to assist on a file, often on short notice

Please note the following:
• This position requires regular travel across the province.
• This position is headquartered at 400 University Avenue, Toronto. Work location may be accommodated based on the successful candidate's current address.

How do I qualify?

Mandatory

• You are proficient in English and French at the Superior level.

Collective Agreement Negotiations:

• You have extensive experience in collective agreement negotiations and administration, in a leading role with either labour or management
• You demonstrate specialized knowledge of conciliation and mediation techniques and practices
• You have thorough knowledge of the structure and character of union and management organizations, the collective bargaining process, including multi-party and key industry negotiations, developing trends in industrial relations methods and guiding principles
• You understand various matters that may be at issue during collective bargaining such as compensation, pensions, benefits and contracting-out

Application of Legislation:

• You have thorough knowledge of the application of the Ontario Labour Relations Act (i.e. Ontario Labour Relations Act, 1995) as applied to collective bargaining
• You understand other provincial labour legislation (i.e. the Crown Employees Collective Bargaining Act, Hospital Labour Disputes Arbitration Act, Fire Protection and Prevention Act, 1997, Ambulance Services Collective Bargaining Act, 2001, Colleges Collective Bargaining Act, 2008, and Toronto Transit Commission Labour Disputes Resolution Act, 2011) as applied to collective bargaining

Administrative Skills:

• You have strong administrative and time management skills to organize and schedule busy workloads and competing deadlines, arrange meetings with potentially uncooperative parties, chair meetings, arrange travel and accommodation, file timely expense reports and provide prompt and effective case management

Interpersonal Skills and Judgment:

• You demonstrate proven integrity and credibility with a variety of stakeholders in the labour relations field
• You demonstrate excellent listening and communication skills
• You have a strong ability to work independently in the field
• You use strong interpersonal skills to work with client groups, fellow mediators and administrative support staff
• You have a strong ability to exercise significant independent judgment and make on-the-spot decisions with limited guidance

OPS Commitment to diversity, inclusion, accessibility, and anti-racism:

We are committed to build a workforce that reflects the communities we serve and to promote a diverse, anti-racist, inclusive, accessible, merit-based, respectful and equitable workplace.

We invite all interested individuals to apply and encourage applications from people with disabilities, Indigenous, Black, and racialized individuals, as well as people from a diversity of ethnic and cultural origins, sexual orientations, gender identities and expressions.

Visit theOPS Anti-Racism Policy and the OPS Diversity and Inclusion Blueprint pages to learn more about the OPS commitment to advance racial equity, accessibility, diversity, and inclusion in the public service.

We offer employment accommodation across the recruitment process and all aspects of employment consistent with the requirements of Ontario's Human Rights Code. Refer to the application instructions below if you require a disability-related accommodation.

Additional Information:

Address:
  • 1 Bilingual Permanent, 400 University Ave, Toronto, Toronto Region
Compensation Group:
Management Compensation Plan
Schedule:
6
Category:
Management and General
Posted on:
Wednesday, January 19, 2022
Note:
  • This ad is also available in French.
  • T-LB-171261/21

    The information that you provide for the purpose of this competition and the results from this competition may be used to fill other positions. These positions may be of various tenures, including short-term assignments. Your information and the results from this competition will be retained for the purpose of filling vacancies in accordance with the applicable collective agreement or policy provisions.

    Effective October 1, 2021, the OPS COVID-19 Safe Workplace Directive requires all Ontario Public Service employees to provide proof they are fully vaccinated, meaning they are fully vaccinated as defined by the Ministry of Health (refer to: COVID-19 Fully Vaccinated Status in Ontario), including 14 calendar days have passed since receiving their final dose of the COVID-19 vaccine.

    Employees who do not provide proof of full vaccination will be deemed ‘not vaccinated' under the Directive and will be required to attend a vaccine education program and undergo regular rapid antigen testing. Employees who are not vaccinated under the policy with a valid medical exemption will not be required to attend a vaccine education program but must undergo regular rapid antigen testing.
All external applicants (including former employees of the Ontario Public Service) applying to a competition in a ministry or Commission public body must disclose (either in the cover letter or resume) previous employment with the Ontario Public Service. Disclosure must include positions held, dates of employment and any active restrictions as applicable from being rehired by the Ontario Public Service. Active restrictions can include time and/or ministry-specific restrictions currently in force, and may preclude a former employee from being offered a position with the Ontario Public Service for a specific time period (e.g. one year), or from being offered a position with a specific ministry (either for a pre-determined time period or indefinitely). The circumstances around an employee's exit will be considered prior to an offer of employment.
Remember: The deadline to apply is Wednesday, February 9, 2022 11:59 pm EST. Late applications will not be accepted.

We thank you for your interest. Only those selected for further screening or an interview will be contacted.

Job advertisements for positions that have been designated bilingual will be provided in both English and French on the website. Positions that are not designated bilingual are not translated and are displayed in English only on both the English and French versions of the website.

Les annonces d'emploi pour les postes désignés bilingues sont publiées en anglais et en français sur le site Web. Les annonces pour les postes qui ne sont pas désignés bilingues ne sont pas traduites et elles figurent en anglais seulement, tant dans la version française que dans la version anglaise du site.

The Ontario Public Service is an inclusive employer.
Accommodation is available under the Ontario's Human Rights Code.
Note: The only website where you can apply on-line for positions with the Ontario Public Service is http://www.gojobs.gov.on.ca

You must enable JavaScript in your browser to access full functionality on the OPS Careers website.

Vous devez activer JavaScript dans votre navigateur pour avoir accès à toutes les fonctionnalités du site Carrières dans la FPO.


Ontario Logo / Logo de l'Ontario
This site is maintained by the Government of Ontario
Ce site est mis à jour par le gouvernement de l'Ontario

Privacy | Important Notices
Confidentialité | Avis importants

© Queen's Printer for Ontario, 2007
© Imprimeur de la Reine pour l'Ontario, 2007

Postulez d'ici: le mercredi 9 février 2022 23h59min HNE
Étape du concours : Concours annulé

Moins de 30 personnes ont posé leur candidature à ce concours.

Pour des raisons opérationnelles, nous avons annulé le recrutement pour ce poste.

Pour chercher d'autres possibilités qui correspondent à vos compétences et à votre expérience, rendez-vous à Recherche d'emploi. Vous pouvez également vous inscrire au service Alerte-emploi pour recevoir des courriels vous informant de l'affichage des nouveaux postes correspondant à vos critères de recherche.

Nous vous remercions de l'intérêt que vous manifestez à l'égard de la fonction publique de l'Ontario.

MÉDIATEUR PRINCIPAL - bilingue

Organisme:
Ministère du Travail, de la Formation et du Développement des compétences
Division:
Division des solutions en matière de relations de travail
Ville:
Toronto
Conditions:
1 Permanent(s)
Code du poste:
I1009C - Services juridiques/réglementation50
Salaire:
80 595,00 $ - 117 142,00 $ par année
Type de concours:
Ouvert
Numéro du concours:
171261
La Direction des services de règlement des différends du ministère du Travail, de la Formation et du Développement des compétences recherche une personne bilingue possédant une vaste expérience des rôles principaux dans la négociation et l'administration de conventions collectives et une vaste expérience des relations de travail en général, afin de fournir une assistance neutre par des tiers aux employeurs et aux syndicats sur la négociation collective, la médiation des griefs et les compétences proactives en relations de travail, en formation et en perfectionnement.

Quelles seront mes fonctions dans ce poste?

Vous devrez :
• fournir des services neutres de médiation par des tiers aux employeurs et aux syndicats pendant les négociations collectives pour aider les parties à parvenir à une convention collective et à éviter les arrêts de travail
• aider les employeurs et les syndicats à résoudre les problèmes de relations de travail importants pouvant survenir lors des négociations collectives et pouvant avoir un impact économique grave sur un secteur ou sur l'économie dans son ensemble
• expliquer aux parties l'application de la législation pertinente en matière de relations de travail, les objectifs légaux des processus de conciliation et de médiation et le rôle du médiateur
• surveiller les arrêts de travail par le biais de communications suivies avec les parties afin d'évaluer l'opportunité d'organiser d'autres réunions pour résoudre le conflit
• fournir des services préventifs de relations de travail, y compris une formation en relations de travail
• offrir des programmes tels que des conférences et de la facilitation
• fournir des services de médiation aux employeurs et aux syndicats pour résoudre les griefs
• fournir des mises à jour et des rapports en temps opportun à la direction, au besoin
• participer à des missions spéciales sur demande, pouvant inclure des allocutions, le développement professionnel et la formation du nouveau personnel de médiation
• gérer un calendrier chargé, un itinéraire et une grande variété d'arrangements de voyage, de réservation des salles de réunion et des hébergements
• assurer la maintenance précise et en temps voulu des fichiers à l'aide d'un système de gestion de fichiers électroniques
• travailler en étroite collaboration avec le personnel administratif pour assurer une gestion des cas rapide et efficace
• préparer le dépôt des dépenses en temps opportun et précis et les processus administratifs connexes
• intervenir pour aider sur un dossier, souvent à court préavis
Veuillez noter ce qui suit :
• Ce poste exige des déplacements fréquents partout dans la province.
• Le poste est basé au 400, avenue University, Toronto. Le lieu de travail peut être adapté selon le lieu de résidence actuel de la personne retenue.

À quelles exigences dois-je répondre?

Ce qui est obligatoire :

• Maîtrise du français et de l'anglais de niveau supérieur.

Négociations de convention collective :

• Vous avez une vaste expérience des négociations et de l'administration de conventions collectives, dans un rôle de premier plan auprès des syndicats ou des dirigeants
• Vous démontrez une connaissance spécialisée des techniques et des pratiques de conciliation et de médiation
• Vous avez une connaissance approfondie de la structure et du caractère des organisations syndicales et patronales, du processus de négociation collective, y compris des négociations multipartites et sectorielles, ainsi que des tendances en matière de méthodes et de principes directeurs en matière de relations industrielles
• Vous comprenez diverses questions pouvant être en jeu lors de négociations collectives telles que la rémunération, les pensions, les avantages sociaux et la sous-traitance

Application de la législation :

• Connaissances approfondies de l'application des dispositions législatives ontariennes régissant les relations de travail (c.-à-d. la Loi de 1995 sur les relations de travail) en matière de négociation collective
• Compréhension des autres lois provinciales régissant les relations de travail (c.-à-d. la Loi de 1993 sur la négociation collective des employés de la Couronne, la Loi sur l'arbitrage des conflits de travail dans les hôpitaux, la Loi de 1997 sur la prévention et la protection contre l'incendie, la Loi de 2001 sur la négociation collective dans les services d'ambulance, la Loi de 2008 sur la négociation collective dans les collèges et la Loi de 2011 sur le règlement des conflits de travail à la Commission de transport de Toronto) en matière de négociation collective

Compétences administratives :

• Aptitudes marquées pour la gestion du temps et l'administration afin d'organiser et de faire les horaires de lourdes charges de travail, de prendre des dispositions pour les réunions avec des parties parfois récalcitrantes, de prendre des dispositions pour les déplacements et l'hébergement, de déposer des rapports de dépenses en temps opportun et de fournir des services de gestion de cas prompts et efficaces

Compétences interpersonnelles et jugement:

• Intégrité et crédibilité manifestes devant diverses parties intéressées du domaine des relations de travail
• Excellentes aptitudes démontrées pour l'écoute et la communication
• Capacité marquée de travailler en autonomie sur le terrain
• Excellentes aptitudes pour les relations interpersonnelles permettant de travailler avec une équipe de médiateurs et le personnel de soutien administratif
• Capacité marquée de faire preuve d'un solide jugement indépendant et de prendre des décisions immédiates en ne disposant que de directives limitées

Engagement de la FPO à l'égard de la diversité, de l'inclusion, de l'accessibilité et de la lutte contre le racisme :

Nous sommes résolus à bâtir une main-d'œuvre représentative des gens que nous servons, de même qu'à promouvoir la diversité, l'antiracisme, l'inclusion, l'accessibilité, le mérite, le respect et l'équité en milieu de travail.
Nous invitons toutes les personnes intéressées à postuler, tout particulièrement les personnes handicapées, autochtones, noires, racisées, de diverses origines ethniques et culturelles, de diverses orientations sexuelles et de diverses identités et expressions de genre.

Rendez-vous sur les pages présentant la Politique de la FPO pour la lutte contre le racisme et le Plan directeur pour l'inclusion et la diversité au sein de la FPO pour en savoir plus sur son engagement à l'égard de l'égalité raciale, de l'accessibilité, de la diversité et de l'inclusion dans la fonction publique.

Nous offrons des mesures d'adaptation des emplois tout au long du processus de recrutement et pour tout ce qui touche l'emploi, conformément auCode des droits de la personnede l'Ontario. Si vous avez besoin que l'on prenne des mesures d'adaptation liées à un handicap, veuillez vous reporter aux instructions ci-dessous.

Renseignements supplémentaires:

Adresse:
  • 1 bilingue Permanent(s), 400, AV. UNIVERSITY, Toronto, Région Toronto
Groupe de rémunération:
Système de rémunération des cadres
Horaire:
6
Catégorie:
Gestion et autres services
Date de publication:
le mercredi 19 janvier 2022
Note:
  • Cette offre d'emploi est également disponible en anglais.
  • T-LB-171261/21

    Les renseignements que vous fournissez dans le cadre de ce concours et les résultats du concours peuvent servir à pourvoir d'autres postes. Les postes sont de durée diverse et comprennent notamment des affectations de courte durée. Ces renseignements et résultats seront conservés afin de pourvoir les postes vacants conformément aux dispositions de la convention collective ou de la politique applicable.

    Depuis le 1er octobre 2021, la directive de la FPO en réponse à la COVID-19 pour des milieux de travail sécuritaires oblige toute personne travaillant pour la fonction publique de l'Ontario à fournir la preuve qu'elle est entièrement vaccinée au sens du ministère de la Santé (voir le document Statut entièrement vacciné contre la COVID-19 en Ontario), ce qui signifie notamment qu'elle a reçu sa dernière dose de vaccin contre la COVID-19 depuis au moins 14 jours civils.

    Les employées et employés de la FPO qui ne fourniront pas une preuve de vaccination complète ou une preuve d'exemption médicale valide seront considérés comme « non vaccinés » en vertu de la directive et devront participer à un programme d'information sur les vaccins et passer régulièrement des tests de dépistage rapide des antigènes. Les employées et employés qui fourniront une preuve d'exemption médicale valide ne devront pas participer à le programme d'information sur les vaccins mais devront passer régulièrement des tests de dépistage rapide des antigens.
Tous les candidats à un emploi (y compris les anciens fonctionnaires de l'Ontario) qui participent à un concours dans un ministère ou à un organisme public rattaché à la Commission doivent divulguer (dans leur lettre d'accompagnement ou leur curriculum vitæ) un emploi occupé antérieurement au sein de la fonction publique de l'Ontario. Les renseignements divulgués doivent comprendre les postes occupés, les dates d'emploi et, le cas échéant, toutes restrictions en vigueur limitant leur réemploi dans la fonction publique de l'Ontario. Les restrictions en vigueur peuvent comprendre des restrictions de temps ou liées à des ministères en particulier, et elles peuvent empêcher d'offrir à un ancien employé un emploi au sein de la fonction publique de l'Ontario pendant une certaine période (p. ex., un an) ou dans un certain ministère (pendant une période prédéterminée ou indéfiniment). Les circonstances entourant le départ d'un employé seront prises en considération avant qu'une offre d'emploi ne lui soit faite.
Rappel : La date limite de candidature est le mercredi 9 février 2022 23h59min HNE. Les candidatures reçues en retard seront refusées.

Nous vous remercions de l'intérêt que vous portez à ce poste. Cependant, nous communiquerons avec vous uniquement dans le cadre du processus de présélection ou pour vous convoquer à une entrevue.

Job advertisements for positions that have been designated bilingual will be provided in both English and French on the website. Positions that are not designated bilingual are not translated and are displayed in English only on both the English and French versions of the website.

Les annonces d'emploi pour les postes désignés bilingues sont publiées en anglais et en français sur le site Web. Les annonces pour les postes qui ne sont pas désignés bilingues ne sont pas traduites et elles figurent en anglais seulement, tant dans la version française que dans la version anglaise du site.

La fonction publique de l'Ontario est un employeur inclusif.
Toute adaptation nécessaire sera réalisée conformément au Code des droits de la personne de l'Ontario.
À noter : http://www.gojobs.gov.on.ca est l'unique site Web qui accepte des candidatures en ligne pour un poste dans la fonction publique de l'Ontario.

You must enable JavaScript in your browser to access full functionality on the OPS Careers website.

Vous devez activer JavaScript dans votre navigateur pour avoir accès à toutes les fonctionnalités du site Carrières dans la FPO.


Ontario Logo / Logo de l'Ontario
This site is maintained by the Government of Ontario
Ce site est mis à jour par le gouvernement de l'Ontario

Privacy | Important Notices
Confidentialité | Avis importants

© Queen's Printer for Ontario, 2007
© Imprimeur de la Reine pour l'Ontario, 2007