Apply By: Thursday, October 20, 2022 11:59 pm EDT
Competition Status: Position Filled

Fewer than thirty individuals applied for this opportunity.

We have completed the recruitment process and successfully hired the top candidate into the position.

To look for other job opportunities that match your skills and experience go to Job Search. You may also subscribe to our Job Alert service to receive emails when new jobs open up that match your determined search criteria.

Thank you for your interest in the Ontario Public Service.

Court Reporter - Irregular On-Call (3 Unilingual and 1 Designated - Bilingual, English - French)

Organization:
Ministry of the Attorney General
Division:
Court Services Division
City:
Sault Ste Marie
Job Term:
4 Temporary - Up to 12 months (irregularly scheduled) with possible extension
Job Code:
00482 - Court Reporter 1
Salary:
$22.87 - $26.81 Per Hour*
*Indicates the salary listed as per the OPSEU Collective Agreement.
Posting Status:
Open
Job ID:
188008
Do you want an exciting career supporting an accessible, fair, timely and effective justice system for Ontarians? Consider joining the Ministry of the Attorney General, Court Services Division where we offer an extensive training program to teach you everything you need to know to become a Court Reporter in the Superior Court of Justice and/or Ontario Court of Justice.

Please note:
• These are temporary, irregularly scheduled positions. The hours of work are from 0 - 36.25 hours per week, depending on operational requirements. There is no guaranteed minimum number of hours, although it is not uncommon for staff to average 20 or more hours per week.
• The positions require the successful candidates to work on site.
• Located approximately 700 kilometres northwest of Toronto, situated on the Canada-U.S.A. border, theCity of Sault Ste. Marie is the third-largest city in the Northern Ontario with a population of approximately 73,368. Clickhere to learn more about the historic, vibrant and welcoming City of Sault Ste. Marie.

Court Services Division is committed to a diverse, respectful and professional workplace that reflects OPS values.

OPS Commitment to Diversity, Inclusion, Accessibility, and Anti-Racism:

We are committed to build a workforce that reflects the communities we serve and to promote a diverse, anti-racist, inclusive, accessible, merit-based, respectful and equitable workplace.

We invite all interested individuals to apply and encourage applications from people with disabilities, Indigenous, Black, and racialized individuals, as well as people from a diversity of ethnic and cultural origins, sexual orientations, gender identities and expressions.

Visit the OPS Anti-Racism Policy and the OPS Diversity and Inclusion Blueprint pages to learn more about the OPS commitment to advance racial equity, accessibility, diversity, and inclusion in the public service.

We offer employment accommodation across the recruitment process and all aspects of employment consistent with the requirements of Ontario's Human Rights Code. Refer to the "How to apply" section if you require a disability-related accommodation.

What can I expect to do in this role?

In a fast-paced team environment, you will perform a wide range of duties both in and out of court and supporting in-person and virtual hearings.
You will:
• Prepare and maintain courtrooms for court proceedings e.g., testing courtroom technology and recording devices, facilitate communication between parties, Interrupt and clarify court proceedings /virtual hearings, ensure the security and quality of the court recordings throughout the day, including safeguarding against unauthorized access or copying
• Support virtual/remote hearings by coordinating and monitoring entry and exit of participants from the virtual courtroom, displaying electronic documents/exhibits, and process court documentation filed in the court
• Provide certified, verbatim recordings of all court proceedings
• Respond to inquiries and provide instruction to clients via telephone, in person, online or via correspondence (example: email) relating to the recording of proceedings

NOTE: The successful candidates will be provided on-the-job training by an experienced co-worker.

How do I qualify?

Mandatory

• Typing/keyboarding and fully programmable word processing skills to 30wpm
• Driver's license to travel to court locations as required.

Mandatory for the 1 Bilingual Position:
• You are proficient in English as well as in oral French at the advanced level, and written French at the advanced-minus level. Your level of proficiency will be tested

Please note, you will be required to:
• Undergo a security screening check under the Ontario Public Service (OPS) Employment Screening Check Policy, which includes a criminal record check (Criminal Records and Judicial Matters Check)

You may be required to:
• Work from home
• Work on weekends and statutory holidays
• Report to work at other court locations (potentially in small aircraft or driving a motor vehicle as required) when scheduled or on an as-needed basis (Have a valid Driver's License within the Province of Ontario, where required)

Knowledge, Problem Solving and Judgement Skills:

You have the ability to:
• Acquire knowledge of legal terminology, interpret and apply relevant sections of federal and provincial legislation
• Acquire knowledge and apply understanding of, manuals, policies, procedures, guidelines and standards
• Identify, address, and resolve problems
• Maintain confidentiality and security for all recordings
• Be professional and use tact and good judgement and oral communication skills to speak publicly during court proceedings

Computer and Digital Recording Skills:

You have:
• Basic technical skills and proficiency with computer software programs (Office 365) and can learn to operate and troubleshoot digital recording equipment, related software, case management systems, and virtual court platforms

Communication and Client Service Skills:

You have:
• Comprehension skills to ensure an accurate and complete recording of proceedings
• Superior customer and client service skills that are professional, responsive and accessible when dealing with clients and other justice participants on the telephone, online/virtually, in person or by correspondence
• Communication skills to give instructions clearly and concisely to small and large groups of people on highly procedural matters
• Excellent written skills to prepare a variety of documents (example: routine correspondence to clients, forms, and orders)

Organizational Skills and Attention to Detail:

You have:
• Accurate typing/keyboarding and programmable word processing skills to annotate court proceedings with excellent attention to detail to spot and rectify errors quickly
• The ability to organize and prioritize your workload, multi-task in a fast-paced environment and to respond to unforeseen demands
• The ability to work independently – within a court setting or from home – and in a team environment, proposing solutions for the optimal use of time and resources to ensure operational requirements are met

Additional Information:

Address:
  • 3 Temporary - Irregular On-Call, duration up to 12 months, 426 Queen St E, Sault Ste Marie, North Region, Criminal Record and Judicial Matters Check
  • 1 Bilingual Temporary - Irregular On-Call, duration up to 12 months, 426 Queen St E, Sault Ste Marie, North Region, Criminal Record and Judicial Matters Check
Compensation Group:
Ontario Public Service Employees Union
Schedule:
3
Category:
Administrative and Support Services
Posted on:
Wednesday, October 5, 2022
Note:
  • This ad is also available in French.
  • In accordance with the Ontario Public Service (OPS), Employment Screening Checks Policy (ESCP), the top candidate(s) may be required to undergo a security screening check. Refer to the above to determine the screening checks that are required for this position.

    Required security screening checks along with your written consent, will be sent to the Transition and Security Office (TSO), Corporate Talent Programs Branch, Talent and Leadership Division to evaluate the results. If applicable, the TSO, with your written consent, will request and obtain any additional employment screening checks that were not obtained directly by you.

    A record under the Criminal Code and/or other federal offence record(s) does not automatically mean you will be ineligible for the position. The employment screening check(s) will only be reviewed and evaluated by the TSO for the purpose of making a security clearance decision. The details of an individual's employment screening check(s) will be considered in specific relation to the duties and responsibilities of the position being filled. Employment screening check records will be maintained by the TSO and kept strictly confidential.
Please be advised that the results of this competition may be used to form an eligibility list of qualified candidates to potentially fill future vacancies represented by the Ontario Public Service Employees Union (OPSEU). In accordance with the Collective Agreement, eligibility lists are shared with OPSEU representatives. By applying to this competition, you are providing consent that your name may be shared with OPSEU representatives.
All external applicants (including former employees of the Ontario Public Service) applying to a competition in a ministry or Commission public body must disclose (either in the cover letter or resume) previous employment with the Ontario Public Service. Disclosure must include positions held, dates of employment and any active restrictions as applicable from being rehired by the Ontario Public Service. Active restrictions can include time and/or ministry-specific restrictions currently in force, and may preclude a former employee from being offered a position with the Ontario Public Service for a specific time period (e.g. one year), or from being offered a position with a specific ministry (either for a pre-determined time period or indefinitely). The circumstances around an employee's exit will be considered prior to an offer of employment.
Remember: The deadline to apply is Thursday, October 20, 2022 11:59 pm EDT. Late applications will not be accepted.

We thank you for your interest. Only those selected for further screening or an interview will be contacted.

Job advertisements for positions that have been designated bilingual will be provided in both English and French on the website. Positions that are not designated bilingual are not translated and are displayed in English only on both the English and French versions of the website.

Les annonces d'emploi pour les postes désignés bilingues sont publiées en anglais et en français sur le site Web. Les annonces pour les postes qui ne sont pas désignés bilingues ne sont pas traduites et elles figurent en anglais seulement, tant dans la version française que dans la version anglaise du site.

The Ontario Public Service is an inclusive employer.
Accommodation is available under the Ontario's Human Rights Code.
Note: The only website where you can apply on-line for positions with the Ontario Public Service is http://www.gojobs.gov.on.ca

You must enable JavaScript in your browser to access full functionality on the OPS Careers website.

Vous devez activer JavaScript dans votre navigateur pour avoir accès à toutes les fonctionnalités du site Carrières dans la FPO.


Ontario Logo / Logo de l'Ontario
This site is maintained by the Government of Ontario
Ce site est mis à jour par le gouvernement de l'Ontario

Privacy | Important Notices
Confidentialité | Avis importants

© Queen's Printer for Ontario, 2007
© Imprimeur de la Reine pour l'Ontario, 2007

Postulez d'ici: le jeudi 20 octobre 2022 23h59min HAE
Étape du concours : Attribution du poste

Moins de 30 personnes ont posé leur candidature à ce concours.

Nous avons terminé le processus de recrutement et avons embauché avec succès le meilleur candidat pour ce poste.

Pour chercher d'autres possibilités qui correspondent à vos compétences et à votre expérience, rendez-vous à Recherche d'emploi. Vous pouvez également vous inscrire au service Alerte-emploi pour recevoir des courriels vous informant de l'affichage des nouveaux postes correspondant à vos critères de recherche.

Nous vous remercions de l'intérêt que vous manifestez à l'égard de la fonction publique de l'Ontario.

STÉNOGRAPHE JUDICIAIRE (IRRÉGULIER SUR APPEL) – 1 DÉSIGNÉS BILINGUES (ANGLAIS ET FRANÇAIS)

Organisme:
Ministère du Procureur général
Division:
Division des services aux tribunaux
Ville:
Sault Ste Marie
Conditions:
4 Temporaire(s) 12 mois
Code du poste:
00482 - Sténographe judiciaire 1
Salaire:
22,87 $ - 26,81 $ de l'heure*
*Indique la rémunération énumérée selon la convention collective conclue avec le SEFPO.
Type de concours:
Ouvert
Numéro du concours:
188008
Vous êtes à la recherche d'une carrière passionnante au cours de laquelle vous contribuerez à garantir un système de justice accessible, équitable, rapide et efficace aux Ontariennes et Ontariens? Voici votre chance de vous joindre à la Division des services aux tribunaux du ministère du Procureur général, où un programme de formation complet vous apprendra tout ce que vous devez savoir pour devenir sténographe judiciaire à la Cour supérieure de justice ou à la Cour de justice de l'Ontario.


Remarques :
• Ces postes sont temporaires et comportent des horaires de travail irréguliers allant de 0 à 36,25 heures par semaine, selon les exigences opérationnelles. Aucun nombre d'heures minimum n'est garanti, cependant il n'est pas inhabituel pour le personnel de travailler, en moyenne, 20 heures ou plus par semaine.
• Ces postes exigent des personnes retenues qu'elles travaillent sur place.
• Située à environ 700 kilomètres au nord-ouest de Toronto, à la frontière entre le Canada et les États-Unis, Sault Ste. Marie est la troisième ville en importance du Nord de l'Ontario, avec une population de 73 368 habitants. Cliquez ici pour en savoir plus sur la ville historique, dynamique et accueillante de Sault Ste. Marie (en anglais seulement).

La Division des services aux tribunaux s'engage à offrir un milieu de travail diversifié, respectueux et professionnel qui reflète les valeurs de la FPO.

Engagement de la FPO à l'égard de la diversité, de l'inclusion, de l'accessibilité et de la lutte contre le racisme :

Nous sommes résolus à bâtir une main-d'œuvre représentative des gens que nous servons, de même qu'à promouvoir la diversité, l'antiracisme, l'inclusion, l'accessibilité, le mérite, le respect et l'équité en milieu de travail.

Nous invitons toutes les personnes intéressées à postuler, tout particulièrement les personnes handicapées, autochtones, noires, racisées, de diverses origines ethniques et culturelles, de diverses orientations sexuelles et de diverses identités et expressions de genre.

Rendez-vous sur les pages présentant la Politique de la FPO pour la lutte contre le racisme et le Plan directeur pour l'inclusion et la diversité au sein de la FPO pour en savoir plus sur son engagement à l'égard de l'égalité raciale, de l'accessibilité, de la diversité et de l'inclusion dans la fonction publique.

Nous offrons des mesures d'adaptation des emplois tout au long du processus de recrutement et pour tout ce qui touche l'emploi, conformément au Code des droits de la personne de l'Ontario. Si vous avez besoin que l'on prenne des mesures d'adaptation liées à un handicap, veuillez vous reporter aux instructions ci-dessous.

Quelles seront mes fonctions dans ce poste?

Dans un milieu au rythme rapide, vous effectuerez diverses tâches en salle d'audience et ailleurs pour permettre la tenue des audiences en personne ou virtuelles.
Vous devrez :
• préparer et gérer les salles d'audience où sont entendues les instances, par exemple vérifier le matériel technologique et les appareils d'enregistrement utilisés; faciliter la communication entre les parties; interrompre et clarifier les instances ou les audiences virtuelles; assurer la sécurité et la qualité des enregistrements des audiences de la journée, notamment en les protégeant contre tout accès ou reproduction non autorisé;
• faciliter la tenue des audiences virtuelles ou à distance en coordonnant et en surveillant l'entrée des personnes dans la salle d'audience virtuelle et leur sortie, en présentant les documents et les pièces à conviction électroniques et en traitant les documents de procédure déposés devant le tribunal;
• fournir des enregistrements intégraux certifiés de toutes les instances judiciaires;
• répondre aux demandes de renseignements et donner des instructions à la clientèle par téléphone, en personne, en ligne ou par correspondance, par exemple par courriel, relativement à l'enregistrement des instances.

NOTA : les personnes retenues recevront une formation en cours d'emploi par une ou un collègue ayant de l'expérience.

À quelles exigences dois-je répondre?

Ce qui est obligatoire :

• Capacité de taper 30 mots par minute et d'utiliser un traitement de texte entièrement programmable.
• Permis de conduire pour se rendre aux tribunaux, au besoin.

Ce qui est obligatoire (pour le poste bilingue) :
• Maîtrise de l'anglais, du français oral de niveau avancé et du français écrit de niveau avancé moins. Votre niveau de maîtrise sera évalué.


Remarques, vous devrez :
• vous soumettre à une enquête de sécurité conformément à la politique relative aux enquêtes de sécurité requises pour l'emploi de la fonction publique de l'Ontario, y compris à une vérification du casier judiciaire (vérification de casier judiciaire et d'affaires judiciaires).

Vous devrez peut-être :
• travailler à domicile;
• travailler les fins de semaine et les jours fériés;
• vous rendre à d'autres tribunaux (à bord d'un petit avion ou au volant d'un véhicule automobile, si nécessaire) selon l'endroit où l'audience est prévue ou au besoin

Connaissances, compétences en résolution de problèmes et discernement

• Capacité d'acquérir une connaissance de la terminologie juridique ainsi que d'interpréter et d'appliquer les articles pertinents des lois fédérales et provinciales.
• Capacité d'acquérir et de démontrer une compréhension des manuels, des politiques, des procédures, des lignes directrices et des normes.
• Capacité de cerner, de traiter et de résoudre les problèmes.
• Capacité d'assurer la confidentialité et la sécurité de tous les enregistrements.
• Capacité de faire preuve de professionnalisme, de tact, de discernement et de compétences en communication orale pour prendre la parole en public pendant les instances judiciaires.

Compétences en informatique et en enregistrement numérique

• Compétences techniques de base, maîtrise des logiciels de la suite Office 365 et capacité d'apprendre à utiliser et à dépanner l'équipement d'enregistrement numérique, les logiciels connexes, les systèmes de gestion des cas et les plateformes virtuelles des tribunaux.

Compétences en communication et en services à la clientèle

• Capacité de compréhension pour veiller à l'enregistrement précis et complet des instances.
• Excellentes compétences en services à la clientèle pour fournir des services professionnels et adaptés à la clientèle et aux autres intervenantes et intervenants du secteur de la justice par téléphone, en ligne ou virtuellement, en personne ou par correspondance.
• Compétences en communication pour donner des instructions claires et concises à de petits et grands groupes de personnes au sujet de questions de procédure pointues.
• Excellentes compétences en communication écrite pour préparer divers documents, comme de la correspondance courante à l'intention de la clientèle, des formulaires et des ordonnances.

Compétences en organisation et souci du détail

• Capacité de taper avec précision et d'utiliser un traitement de texte programmable pour annoter les instances judiciaires avec un grand souci du détail afin de repérer et de corriger rapidement les erreurs.
• Capacité d'organiser le travail et d'en établir les priorités, de mener plusieurs tâches de front dans un milieu au rythme rapide ainsi que de répondre aux demandes imprévues.
• Capacité de travailler de façon autonome – dans un tribunal ou à domicile – et en équipe, en proposant des solutions visant à optimiser l'utilisation du temps et des ressources de façon à que les exigences opérationnelles soient respectées.

Renseignements supplémentaires:

Adresse:
  • 3 Temporaire(s) - Irrégulier(s) - sur appel, durée jusqu'à 12 mois, 426, RUE QUEEN E, Sault Ste Marie, Région Nord, Vérification de casier judiciaire et d'affaires judiciaires
  • 1 bilingue Temporaire(s) - Irrégulier(s) - sur appel, durée jusqu'à 12 mois, 426, RUE QUEEN E, Sault Ste Marie, Région Nord, Vérification de casier judiciaire et d'affaires judiciaires
Groupe de rémunération:
Syndicat des employées et employés de la fonction publique de l'Ontario
Horaire:
3
Catégorie:
Services d'administration et de soutien
Date de publication:
le mercredi 5 octobre 2022
Note:
  • Cette offre d'emploi est également disponible en anglais.
  • Conformément à la Politique relative aux vérifications de sécurité du personnel de la fonction publique de l'Ontario, les meilleurs candidats pourraient être tenus de se soumettre à une enquête de sécurité générale. Reportez-vous à ce qui précède pour déterminer les vérifications de présélection nécessaires pour ce poste.

    Les vérifications des antecedents du personnel requises, accompagnées de votre consentement écrit, seront envoyées au Bureau de la transition et de la sécurité (TSO), Direction des programmes relatifs au talent pour la FPO, à la Division du talent et du leadership pour évaluer les résultats. Si necessaire, le TSO, avec votre consentement écrit, demandera et obtiendra toute autre vérification des antécédents additionnels que vous n'auriez pas obtenue directement.

    Un casier judiciaire pour une infraction au Code criminel ou une autre infraction fédérale ne signifie pas automatiquement que vous ne serez pas admissible au poste. Le BTS examinera et évaluera les vérifications de sécurité uniquement aux fins de la prise d'une décision au sujet de l'attestation de sécurité. Les détails des vérifications de sécurité seront pris en considération en fonction des fonctions et responsabilités propres au poste à pourvoir. Les dossiers de vérification de l'emploi seront conservés par le BTS dans la plus stricte confidentialité.
  • N-AG-173509/2021
Sachez que les résultats de ce concours pourraient servir à établir une liste d'admissibilité de candidats qualifiés à occuper de futurs postes vacants, représentés par le Syndicat des employés de la fonction publique de l'Ontario (SEFPO). Conformément à la convention collective, les listes d'admissibilité sont partagées avec les représentants du SEFPO. En participant à ce concours, vous consentez à transmettre votre nom aux représentants du SEFPO.
Tous les candidats à un emploi (y compris les anciens fonctionnaires de l'Ontario) qui participent à un concours dans un ministère ou à un organisme public rattaché à la Commission doivent divulguer (dans leur lettre d'accompagnement ou leur curriculum vitæ) un emploi occupé antérieurement au sein de la fonction publique de l'Ontario. Les renseignements divulgués doivent comprendre les postes occupés, les dates d'emploi et, le cas échéant, toutes restrictions en vigueur limitant leur réemploi dans la fonction publique de l'Ontario. Les restrictions en vigueur peuvent comprendre des restrictions de temps ou liées à des ministères en particulier, et elles peuvent empêcher d'offrir à un ancien employé un emploi au sein de la fonction publique de l'Ontario pendant une certaine période (p. ex., un an) ou dans un certain ministère (pendant une période prédéterminée ou indéfiniment). Les circonstances entourant le départ d'un employé seront prises en considération avant qu'une offre d'emploi ne lui soit faite.
Rappel : La date limite de candidature est le jeudi 20 octobre 2022 23h59min HAE. Les candidatures reçues en retard seront refusées.

Nous vous remercions de l'intérêt que vous portez à ce poste. Cependant, nous communiquerons avec vous uniquement dans le cadre du processus de présélection ou pour vous convoquer à une entrevue.

Job advertisements for positions that have been designated bilingual will be provided in both English and French on the website. Positions that are not designated bilingual are not translated and are displayed in English only on both the English and French versions of the website.

Les annonces d'emploi pour les postes désignés bilingues sont publiées en anglais et en français sur le site Web. Les annonces pour les postes qui ne sont pas désignés bilingues ne sont pas traduites et elles figurent en anglais seulement, tant dans la version française que dans la version anglaise du site.

La fonction publique de l'Ontario est un employeur inclusif.
Toute adaptation nécessaire sera réalisée conformément au Code des droits de la personne de l'Ontario.
À noter : http://www.gojobs.gov.on.ca est l'unique site Web qui accepte des candidatures en ligne pour un poste dans la fonction publique de l'Ontario.

You must enable JavaScript in your browser to access full functionality on the OPS Careers website.

Vous devez activer JavaScript dans votre navigateur pour avoir accès à toutes les fonctionnalités du site Carrières dans la FPO.


Ontario Logo / Logo de l'Ontario
This site is maintained by the Government of Ontario
Ce site est mis à jour par le gouvernement de l'Ontario

Privacy | Important Notices
Confidentialité | Avis importants

© Queen's Printer for Ontario, 2007
© Imprimeur de la Reine pour l'Ontario, 2007