Apply By: Friday, April 27, 2018 11:59 pm EDT
Competition Status: Posting Closed

The total number of applications is not available because applications were not received online.

We are no longer accepting applications. To obtain information on the status of the competition please contact the organization indicated on the Job Advertisement.

To look for other job opportunities that match your skills and experience go to Job Search. You may also subscribe to our Job Alert service to receive emails when new jobs open up that match your determined search criteria.

Thank you for your interest in the Ontario Public Service.

STEWARDSHIP YOUTH RANGERS

Organization:
Ministry of Natural Resources and Forestry
Division:
Provincial Services Division and Regional Operations Division
City:
Alliston, Atikokan, Aurora, Aylmer, Bancroft, Bonnechere Provincial Park (Killaloe), Chapleau, Cochrane, Dryden, Guelph, Hearst, Huntsville, Kemptville, Kenora, Killbear Provincial Park (Nobel)*, Kingston, Kirkfield, Kirkland Lake, Midhurst, Moosonee, Nipigon, North Bay, Onaping, Parry Sound, Pembroke, Sault Ste Marie, Sioux Lookout, South Porcupine, Sudbury, Temagami, Terrace Bay, Thunder Bay, Wawa
Job Term:
148 Temporary contracts up to 8 weeks
Job Code:
Student 1 - Student Level 1
Salary:
$14.00 - $14.00 Per Hour*
*Indicates the salary listed as per the OPSEU Collective Agreement.
Posting Status:
Open
Job ID:
120430

What can I expect to do in this role?

As a Stewardship Youth Ranger (SYR), you will work as part of a team with four Rangers under the direction of one Team Lead. Rangers work on natural resource management projects in their own communities. Rangers meet at a central work location daily. Most projects will be outdoors and could involve rough terrain and a variety of weather conditions.

For more information: Please link to our SYR program page.

How do I qualify?

Mandatory requirements:

• You must have been born in 2001. This means that applicants may be 16 or 17 at the time of hire, but not turning 18 before December 31, 2018.
• You must be a student.
• You must be an Ontario resident.
• You must be eligible to work in Canada.

Team skills:

• You have demonstrated the ability to build and maintain effective relationships working in a team (e.g. at work, at school, in other personal activities) to achieve a common goal.
• You have personal leadership skills (e.g. organization skills, accepts responsibility) to initiate and complete tasks in a timely manner.
• You have oral communication skills to speak with co-workers, supervisors, members of the public, and media.

Natural resource knowledge:

• You have knowledge, experience and /or interest in natural resources and the outdoors (e.g. work or volunteer experience, school courses, or personal activities).

Additional Information:

Address:
  • 4 Temporary, duration up to 8 weeks, 4998 Concession Rd 7, Alliston, Central Region
  • 12 Temporary, duration up to 8 weeks, 435 South James Street, Thunder Bay, North Region
  • 4 Temporary, duration up to 8 weeks, 5 Wadsworth Dr, Nipigon, North Region
  • 4 Temporary, duration up to 8 weeks, , QUETICO PROV PK, Atikokan, North Region
  • 8 Temporary, duration up to 8 weeks, 469 Government St, Dryden, North Region
  • 4 Temporary, duration up to 8 weeks, Hwy 17, Terrace Bay, North Region
  • 4 Temporary, duration up to 8 weeks, Hwy 71 - 6 Km S Of Hwy 17, RUSHING RIVER PROVINCIAL PARK, Kenora, North Region
  • 4 Temporary, duration up to 8 weeks, 34 Revillion Road, Moosonee, North Region
  • 4 Temporary, duration up to 8 weeks, 2-3 Hwy 11 S, Cochrane, North Region
  • 4 Temporary, duration up to 8 weeks, 190 Cherry St, Chapleau, North Region
  • 4 Temporary, duration up to 8 weeks, 5520 Hwy 101 E, South Porcupine, North Region
  • 4 Temporary, duration up to 8 weeks, 10 Government Rd, Kirkland Lake, North Region
  • 4 Temporary, duration up to 8 weeks, 48 Mission Road, Wawa, North Region
  • 4 Temporary, duration up to 8 weeks, 64 Church St, Sault Ste Marie, North Region
  • 4 Temporary, duration up to 8 weeks, 3767 Hwy 69 S, Sudbury, North Region
  • 4 Temporary, duration up to 8 weeks, 35 Killbear Park Rd, PO Box 71, Killbear Provincial Park (Nobel)*, North Region
  • 8 Temporary, duration up to 8 weeks, Near Hwy 144, Onaping, North Region
  • 4 Temporary, duration up to 8 weeks, 3301 Trout Lake Rd, North Bay, North Region
  • 4 Temporary, duration up to 8 weeks, 613 Front St, Hearst, North Region
  • 4 Temporary, duration up to 8 weeks, 7 Bay St, Parry Sound, North Region
  • 4 Temporary, duration up to 8 weeks, Hwy 11, FINLAYSON PT. PROVINCIAL PARK, Temagami, North Region
  • 4 Temporary, duration up to 8 weeks, 615 John St N, Aylmer, West Region
  • 4 Temporary, duration up to 8 weeks, 1 Stone Rd, Guelph, West Region
  • 4 Temporary, duration up to 8 weeks, 451 Arrowhead Park Rd RR3, Huntsville, Central Region
  • 4 Temporary, duration up to 8 weeks, 49 Prince St, Sioux Lookout, North Region
  • 4 Temporary, duration up to 8 weeks, 2284 Nursery Rd, HWY 26, Midhurst, Central Region
  • 4 Temporary, duration up to 8 weeks, 51 Heakes Ln, Kingston, East Region
  • 4 Temporary, duration up to 8 weeks, RR 1 Hwy 48, Kirkfield, East Region
  • 4 Temporary, duration up to 8 weeks, 31 Riverside Drive, Pembroke, East Region
  • 4 Temporary, duration up to 8 weeks, 4024 Round Lake Rd, Bonnechere PP , Bonnechere Provincial Park (Killaloe), East Region
  • 4 Temporary, duration up to 8 weeks, 10 Campus Dr, Kemptville, East Region
  • 4 Temporary, duration up to 8 weeks, 50 Bloomington Rd W, Aurora, Central Region
  • 4 Temporary, duration up to 8 weeks, 106 Monck St, Bancroft, East Region
Compensation Group:
Ontario Public Service Employees Union
Schedule:
N/A
Category:
Environment
Posted on:
Monday, February 26, 2018
Note:
  • Alliston: Mike Toutant - mike.toutant@ontario.ca
    Atikokan (Quetico Provincial Park): Trevor Gibb - trevor.gibb@ontario.ca
    Aurora: Danielle Aulenback - danielle.aulenback@ontario.ca
    Aylmer: Dave Depuydt - dave.depuydt@ontario.ca
    Bancroft: Jennifer Card - jennifer.card@ontario.ca
    Chapleau: Meghan Quinn - meghan.quinn@ontario.ca
    Cochrane: Jamie Armstrong - jamie.a.armstrong@ontario.ca
    Dryden: Scott Ellery - scott.ellery@ontario.ca
    Dryden: Garret Ugray - garrett.ugray@ontario.ca
    Guelph: Lorraine Moir - lorraine.moir@ontario.ca
    Hearst: Kevin Wilson - kevin.wilson1@ontario.ca
    Huntsville (Arrowhead Provincial Park): Peter Briand - peter.briand@ontario.ca
    Kemptville: Martin Streit - martin.streit@ontario.ca
    Kenora: John Myshrall - john.myshrall@ontario.ca
    Killaloe (Bonnechere Provincial Park): Jason Mask - jason.mask@ontario.ca
    Kingston: Justin White - Justin.s.white@ontario.ca
    Kirkfield (Balsam Lake Provincial Park): Jason Dwyer - jason.dwyer@ontario.ca
    Kirkland Lake: Andrew MacLean - andrew.maclean@ontario.ca
    Midhurst: Jeff Haelzle - jeff.haelzle@ontario.ca
    Moosonee: Peter Kapashesit - peter.kapashesit@ontario.ca
    Nipigon: Gord Teasdale - gord.teasdale@ontario.ca
    North Bay: Shannon Page - shannon.page@ontario.ca
    Parry Sound: Mara Kerry - mara.kerry@ontario.ca
    Parry Sound (Killbear Provincial Park): Martha Martens - martha.martens@ontario.ca
    Pembroke: Christina Davis - Christina.davis@ontario.ca
    Sault Ste. Marie: Peggy Wilson - peggy.wilson@ontario.ca
    Sioux Lookout: Adam Clark - adam.clark@ontario.ca
    South Porcupine: Heidi Etzel - heidi.etzel@ontario.ca
    Sudbury (Windy Lake Provincial Park): Ryan Gardner - ryan.gardner@ontario.ca
    Sudbury: Derrick Luetchford - derrick.luetchford@ontario.ca
    Temagami: Kevin Pinkerton - kevin.pinkerton@ontario.ca
    Terrace Bay: Allison Dennis - allison.dennis@ontario.ca
    Thunder Bay: James Bennitt - james.bennitt@ontario.ca
    Thunder Bay: Sarah Stanley - sarah.stanley@ontario.ca
    Thunder Bay: Emily Hawkins - emily.hawkins@ontario.ca
    Wawa: Wendy J LeClair - wendy.leclair@ontario.ca
Please be advised that the results of this competition may be used to form an eligibility list of qualified candidates to potentially fill future vacancies represented by the Ontario Public Service Employees Union (OPSEU). In accordance with the Collective Agreement, eligibility lists are shared with OPSEU representatives. By applying to this competition, you are providing consent that your name may be shared with OPSEU representatives.

Collection of Information

Your personal information is being collected and will be used to determine your qualifications for employment with the Ontario Public Service, and for recruitment modernization initiatives. OPS Careers is an authorized common service in accordance with s. 6 of the Ministry of Government Services Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. M.25 and this collection of personal information is necessary to the proper administration of OPS Careers.

Please do not provide more personal information than what is asked of you. For example, do not include your social insurance number, photograph, or banking information, etc. with your application. We strongly encourage you not to provide us with information beyond that which is requested in the job posting.

If you have any questions about the collection, use, disclosure, or retention of your personal information, please contact us.

All external applicants (including former employees of the Ontario Public Service) applying to a competition in a ministry or Commission public body must disclose (either in the cover letter or resume) previous employment with the Ontario Public Service. Disclosure must include positions held, dates of employment and any active restrictions as applicable from being rehired by the Ontario Public Service. Active restrictions can include time and/or ministry-specific restrictions currently in force, and may preclude a former employee from being offered a position with the Ontario Public Service for a specific time period (e.g. one year), or from being offered a position with a specific ministry (either for a pre-determined time period or indefinitely). The circumstances around an employee's exit will be considered prior to an offer of employment.
Remember: The deadline to apply is Friday, April 27, 2018 11:59 pm EDT. Late applications will not be accepted.

We thank you for your interest. Only those selected for further screening or an interview will be contacted.

Job advertisements for positions that have been designated bilingual will be provided in both English and French on the website. Positions that are not designated bilingual are not translated and are displayed in English only on both the English and French versions of the website.

Les annonces d'emploi pour les postes désignés bilingues sont publiées en anglais et en français sur le site Web. Les annonces pour les postes qui ne sont pas désignés bilingues ne sont pas traduites et elles figurent en anglais seulement, tant dans la version française que dans la version anglaise du site.

The Ontario Public Service is an inclusive employer.
Accommodation is available under the Ontario Human Rights Code.
Note: The only website where you can apply on-line for positions with the Ontario Public Service is http://www.gojobs.gov.on.ca

You must enable JavaScript in your browser to access full functionality on the OPS Careers website.

Vous devez activer JavaScript dans votre navigateur pour avoir accès à toutes les fonctionnalités du site Carrières dans la FPO.


Ontario Logo / Logo de l'Ontario
This site is maintained by the Government of Ontario
Ce site est mis à jour par le gouvernement de l'Ontario

Privacy | Important Notices
Confidentialité | Avis importants

© Queen's Printer for Ontario, 2007
© Imprimeur de la Reine pour l'Ontario, 2007