Apply By: Friday, December 11, 2020 11:59 pm EST
Competition Status: Posting Cancelled

Fewer than thirty individuals applied for this opportunity.

Due to operational reasons the recruitment for this position has been cancelled.

To look for other job opportunities that match your skills and experience go to Job Search. You may also subscribe to our Job Alert service to receive emails when new jobs open up that match your determined search criteria.

Thank you for your interest in the Ontario Public Service.

SERGEANT - DESIGNATED BILINGUAL (ENGLISH-FRENCH)

Organization:
Ministry of the Solicitor General
Division:
South West Detention Centre
City:
Maidstone
Job Term:
1 Permanent
Job Code:
M0712D - Social Services28
Salary:
$64,468.00 - $93,791.00 Per Year
Posting Status:
Open
Job ID:
157921
Are you a strong leader with exceptional management and organizational skills? Do you exhibit sound judgment and thrive in a fast-paced or a correctional treatment environment? If so, consider this exciting and challenging opportunity as a Sergeant with the Ministry of the Solicitor General at the South West Detention Centre.

As a valued member of the management team, you will contribute to the establishment of a strong adaptive culture where correctional programs and operations are delivered in an integrated and co-coordinated manner. You will play an integral role in the operation of the institution, and contribute to public safety and security through the care, custody, control and rehabilitation of inmates.

Why join our team?
With this unique and challenging opportunity you will be part of a dynamic organization that values teamwork, staff development, diversity and inclusion. Each day will present new challenging and rewarding experiences, and opportunities for growth and learning. Above all else, you will play an integral role in making a difference for Ontario communities.

The Ministry of the Solicitor General offers a comprehensive and competitive compensation package including:
• A defined benefit pension plan
• Maternity and parental leave top-up benefits
• A comprehensive health and dental plan
• Life and disability insurance
• A progressive work environment that promotes work/life balance
• Flexible learning and developmental opportunities including online, training and mentorship programs
• Opportunities for career advancement and specialization

What can I expect to do in this role?

As a Sergeant, you will:

• Oversee the administration and operations of an institution that functions on a 24 hours a day, 7 days a week environment
• Ensure effective and efficient delivery of institution security and correctional programs and services
• Assist in, develop and review institutional standing orders and local operational policies and procedures
• Provide leadership and guidance to staff, and manage all shift activities
• Support and communicate a values-based and inclusive organizational model

The Ontario Public Service (OPS) defines what it means to be a leader by the following expected attributes and behavioural competencies:

• You are a responsible leader who demonstrates authenticity, accountability and courage.
• You lead for the future by embracing positive disruption, maintaining a future mindset and by developing staff everyday
• You are people centered by leading your team with a common purpose, being inclusive and driving people centered outcomes.

How do I qualify?

Mandatory

Proficiency in English and oral and written French at the advanced level.

Leadership and Managerial Skills

• You have proven leadership skills to provide direction, coaching and mentoring to staff, and make sound operational decisions
• You have knowledge of human resources and labour relations practices to address employee issues, support performance and development, and promote an inclusive and engaged team
• You can plan and administer program operations and develop work plans to meet program objectives
• you can act with integrity even when it is difficult to do so
• you can interpret and apply related legislation to ensure compliance (i.e. Workplace Discrimination and Harassment Policy, Ministry of Correctional Services Act, Criminal Code, Mental Health Act, institutional standing orders)

Technical Knowledge and Crisis Management Expertise

• You have knowledge of correctional theory and practices related to admission and discharge procedures, care, custody, control and transportation of inmates
• You can oversee the daily operations of an institution, and ensure compliance with ministry standard, policies and security requirements
• Knowledge of offender behaviour and population moods in order to direct staff and determine appropriate interventions
• You have knowledge of the crisis management model, particularly the ‘use of force' policy, and the ability to effectively contain or act on emergency and challenging situations, determining best approaches to resolving recurring incidents

Communication and Interpersonal Skills

• You can communicate effectively with staff, management, inmates, and the general public
• You can provide clear direction and guidance to staff and can communicate clearly and directly in difficult and stressful situations
• You have written communication skills to articulate issues and information in formal reports

Diversity, Inclusion, Accessibility and Anti-Racism

The OPS is an innovative, responsive and accountable public service that works hard to be diverse, anti-racist, inclusive, merit-based, and equitable. Diversifying leadership is a top priority for the OPS. Our goal is to achieve parity with the Ontario labour force by 2025 for the most under-represented groups (Indigenous, racialized and persons with disabilities) on our leadership teams.

The OPS is an accessible employer and we offer accommodation in all aspects of employment, including the recruitment process. Visit the OPS Anti-Racism Policy and the OPS Diversity and Inclusion Blueprint pages to learn more about the OPS commitment to advancing racial equity, diversity and inclusion.

Additional Information:

Address:
  • 1 Bilingual Permanent - Full Time, 4565 8th Concession Rd, Maidstone, West Region, Vulnerable Sector Check, Canadian Border Services Check, Credit History Check, Driver's License History, Local Police Databases Search, PIP/NICHE/RMS, Social Networking Search
Compensation Group:
Management Compensation Plan
Schedule:
5
Category:
Corrections and Enforcement
Posted on:
Friday, November 27, 2020
Note:
  • This ad is also available in French.
  • In accordance with the Ontario Public Service (OPS), Employment Screening Checks Policy (ESCP), the top candidate(s) may be required to undergo a security screening check. Refer to the above to determine the screening checks that are required for this position.

    Required security screening checks along with your written consent, will be sent to the Transition and Security Office (TSO), Talent Acquisition Branch (TAB), HR Service Delivery Division (HRSDD) to evaluate the results. If applicable, the TSO, with your written consent, will request and obtain any additional employment screening checks that were not obtained directly by you.

    A record under the Criminal Code and/or other federal offence record(s) does not automatically mean you will be ineligible for the position. The employment screening check(s) will only be reviewed and evaluated by the TSO for the purpose of making a security clearance decision. The details of an individual's employment screening check(s) will be considered in specific relation to the duties and responsibilities of the position being filled. Employment screening check records will be maintained by the TSO and kept strictly confidential.
  • W-CL-157921/20
    The information that you provide for the purpose of this competition and the results from this competition may be used to fill other positions These positions may be of various tenures including short-term assignments. Your information and the results from this competition will be retained for the purpose of filling vacancies in accordance with the applicable collective agreement or policy provisions.
All external applicants (including former employees of the Ontario Public Service) applying to a competition in a ministry or Commission public body must disclose (either in the cover letter or resume) previous employment with the Ontario Public Service. Disclosure must include positions held, dates of employment and any active restrictions as applicable from being rehired by the Ontario Public Service. Active restrictions can include time and/or ministry-specific restrictions currently in force, and may preclude a former employee from being offered a position with the Ontario Public Service for a specific time period (e.g. one year), or from being offered a position with a specific ministry (either for a pre-determined time period or indefinitely). The circumstances around an employee's exit will be considered prior to an offer of employment.
Remember: The deadline to apply is Friday, December 11, 2020 11:59 pm EST. Late applications will not be accepted.

We thank you for your interest. Only those selected for further screening or an interview will be contacted.

Job advertisements for positions that have been designated bilingual will be provided in both English and French on the website. Positions that are not designated bilingual are not translated and are displayed in English only on both the English and French versions of the website.

Les annonces d'emploi pour les postes désignés bilingues sont publiées en anglais et en français sur le site Web. Les annonces pour les postes qui ne sont pas désignés bilingues ne sont pas traduites et elles figurent en anglais seulement, tant dans la version française que dans la version anglaise du site.

The Ontario Public Service is an inclusive employer.
Accommodation is available under the Ontario Human Rights Code.
Note: The only website where you can apply on-line for positions with the Ontario Public Service is http://www.gojobs.gov.on.ca

You must enable JavaScript in your browser to access full functionality on the OPS Careers website.

Vous devez activer JavaScript dans votre navigateur pour avoir accès à toutes les fonctionnalités du site Carrières dans la FPO.


Ontario Logo / Logo de l'Ontario
This site is maintained by the Government of Ontario
Ce site est mis à jour par le gouvernement de l'Ontario

Privacy | Important Notices
Confidentialité | Avis importants

© Queen's Printer for Ontario, 2007
© Imprimeur de la Reine pour l'Ontario, 2007

Postulez d'ici: le vendredi 11 décembre 2020 23h59min HNE
Étapes Du Concours : Examen des candidatures

Moins de 30 personnes ont posé leur candidature à ce concours.

Nous trions TOUTES les candidatures reçues avant et jusqu'à la date de clôture, puis nous les classons en fonction des compétences stipulées sur l'avis d'emploi. Les candidats dont le curriculum vitae et la lettre d'accompagnement font état de compétences correspondant le mieux aux exigences du poste seront invités a poursuivre le processus d'embauche.

Pour en savoir plus sur ce dernier, consultez les Étapes de notre processus d'embauche.

SERGENTE OU SERGENT- Désigné bilingue (anglais et français)

Organisme:
Ministère du Solliciteur général
Division:
Centre de traitement et de détention provisoire d'Algoma
Ville:
Maidstone
Conditions:
1 Permanent(s)
Code du poste:
M0712D - Services sociaux28
Salaire:
64 468,00 $ - 93 791,00 $ par année
Type de concours:
Ouvert
Numéro du concours:
157921
Êtes-vous une leadeuse ou un leader solide avec des aptitudes de gestion et d'organisation exceptionnelles? Avez-vous un bon jugement et vous épanouissez-vous dans un milieu au rythme rapide, ou dans le milieu du traitement correctionnel? Savez-vous travailler en équipe et avez-vous de bonnes aptitudes communicationnelles et relationnelles? Si oui, cette offre prometteuse et stimulante avec le ministère du Solliciteur général au Centre de détention d'Ottawa / Carleton.

En tant que membre précieux de l'équipe de gestion, vous contribuerez à la création d'une forte culture d'adaptation permettant d'offrir les opérations et les activités correctionnelles de manière intégrée et coordonnée. Jouant un rôle clé dans le fonctionnement de l'établissement, vous contribuerez à la sécurité du public par la prise en charge, la garde, la surveillance et la réadaptation des personnes détenues.

Pourquoi joindre notre équipe?

Cette occasion unique et stimulante vous permettra de faire partie d'une organisation dynamique pour laquelle le travail d'équipe, le perfectionnement professionnel, la diversité et l'inclusion sont des valeurs importantes. De nouvelles expériences stimulantes et gratifiantes vous attendent chaque jour, et les occasions de grandir et d'apprendre sont multiples. Surtout, cet emploi vous permettra de jouer un rôle central dans les collectivités de l'Ontario.

Le ministère du Solliciteur général offre un régime de rémunération complet et compétitif qui comprend :
• un régime de retraite à prestations déterminées;
• des prestations de maternité et parentales complémentaires;
• un régime de soins de santé et dentaires complet;
• un régime d'assurance-vie et invalidité;
• un environnement de travail progressiste qui favorise la conciliation travail-vie personnelle;
• des occasions d'apprentissage et de développement personnel flexibles (programmes en ligne, formation, mentorat);
• des possibilités d'avancement professionnel et de spécialisation.

Quelles seront mes fonctions dans ce poste?

En tant que Sergent, vous devrez:

• Superviser l'administration et les activités d'un établissement actif 24 heures sur 24, 7 jours sur 7.
• S'assurer de la prestation efficace et efficiente des activités et des services correctionnels et de sécurité de l'établissement.
• Participer à la rédaction et à la révision des ordres permanents et des politiques et procédures opérationnelles de l'établissement.
• Fournir un encadrement au personnel, et gérer les activités de toutes les équipes.
• Promouvoir un modèle organisationnel inclusif et fondé sur les valeurs.

Le leadership à la FPO

La fonction publique de l'Ontario (FPO) définit les comportements de leadership de la manière suivante :

• Nous prenons nos responsabilités en tant que leaders en faisant preuve d'authenticité, de responsabilité et de courage.
• Nous montrons la voie vers l'avenir en adoptant un état d'esprit tourné vers le futur, en voyant du positif dans le changement et en s'améliorant ensemble, tous les jours.
• Nous sommes des gens qui œuvrons à diriger vers un but commun, à garantir l'inclusion et à atteindre des objectifs axés sur les personnes.

À quelles exigences dois-je répondre?

Ce qui est obligatoire :

Maîtrise de l'anglais et du français oral et écrit de niveau avancé.

Compétences en leadership

• Vous faites preuve de leadership en fournissant des directives, de l'accompagnement et du mentorat aux membres du personnel, en plus de prendre de bonnes décisions opérationnelles.
• Vous connaissez les procédures de ressources humaines et de relations de travail pour régler les problèmes internes, favoriser le rendement et le développement et amener l'équipe à être inclusive et mobilisée.
• Vous êtes en mesure de planifier et d'administrer les activités du programme et d'élaborer des plans de travail en vue d'atteindre les objectifs des programmes.
• Vous savez rester intègre, même quand ce peut être difficile.
• Vous savez interpréter et appliquer les règlements pour en assurer le respect (ex. Politique de prévention de la discrimination et du harcèlement au travail, Loi sur le ministère des Services correctionnels, Code criminel, Loi sur la santé mentale, ordres permanents de l'établissement).

Connaissance du système correctionnel et expertise en gestion de crise

• Vous avez une connaissance théorique et pratique des procédures correctionnelles d'admission et de sortie, de prise en charge, de garde, de surveillance et de transport des personnes détenues.
• Vous êtes en mesure de superviser les activités quotidiennes d'un établissement, et vous assurer du respect des normes, des politiques et des exigences de sécurité ministérielles.
• Vous avez une bonne connaissance du comportement et de la disposition des personnes détenues et des groupes pour guider le personnel et déterminer les interventions appropriées.
• Vous connaissez le modèle de gestion de crise, particulièrement la politique entourant l'usage de la force et vous êtes en mesure de maîtriser des situations urgentes et exigeantes ou d'y réagir, en déterminant la meilleure façon de mettre fin à des incidents récurrents.

Communication et habiletés interpersonnelles

• Vous communiquez efficacement avec le personnel, l'équipe de gestion, les personnes détenues et le public.
• Vous donnez des directives et des orientations claires au personnel et communiquez de manière claire et directe dans les situations de stress éprouvantes.
• Vous maîtrisez bien la rédaction écrite de rapports officiels et savez énoncer les problématiques et l'information.

Diversité, inclusion, accessibilité et lutte contre le racisme

La FPO est une organisation innovante, proactive et responsable qui met tout en œuvre pour promouvoir la diversité, la lutte contre le racisme, l'inclusion, le mérite et l'équité dans ses rangs. À ce titre, augmenter la diversité chez ses dirigeants est primordial. Son objectif est d'atteindre la parité avec la population active de l'Ontario d'ici 2025 au sein de ses équipes de direction pour les groupes les plus sous-représentés (Autochtones, personnes racisées et personnes handicapées).

La FPO est un employeur qui favorise l'accessibilité par l'offre de mesures d'adaptation en matière d'emploi, y compris pour ce qui est du processus de recrutement. Rendez-vous sur les pages présentant la Politique de la FPO pour la lutte contre le racisme et le Plan directeur pour l'inclusion et la diversité au sein de la FPO pour en savoir plus sur son engagement envers l'équité raciale, la diversité et l'inclusion.

Renseignements supplémentaires:

Adresse:
  • 1 bilingue Permanent(s) - Temps plein, 4565 8th Concession Rd, Maidstone, Région Ouest, Vérification des antécédents en vue d'un travail auprès de personnes vulnérables, Vérification des services frontaliers du Canada, Vérification de la solvabilité, Historique du permis de conduire, Recherche dans les bases de données des services de police locaux, PIP/NICHE/RMS, Recherche sur les réseaux sociaux
Groupe de rémunération:
Système de rémunération des cadres
Horaire:
5
Catégorie:
Services correctionnels et application de la loi
Date de publication:
le vendredi 27 novembre 2020
Note:
  • Cette offre d'emploi est également disponible en anglais.
  • Conformément à la Politique relative aux vérifications de sécurité du personnel de la fonction publique de l'Ontario, les meilleurs candidats pourraient être tenus de se soumettre à une enquête de sécurité générale. Reportez-vous à ce qui précède pour déterminer les vérifications de présélection nécessaires pour ce poste.

    Les vérifications des antecedents du personnel requises, accompagnées de votre consentement écrit, seront envoyées au Bureau de la Sécurité et de la Transition (TSO), à la Direction de l'Acquisition de Talents (TAB), à la Division de la Prestation des Services de Ressources Humaines (RHDC) pour évaluer les résultats. Si necessaire, le TSO, avec votre consentement écrit, demandera et obtiendra toute autre vérification des antécédents additionnels que vous n'auriez pas obtenue directement.

    Un casier judiciaire pour une infraction au Code criminel ou une autre infraction fédérale ne signifie pas automatiquement que vous ne serez pas admissible au poste. Le BTS examinera et évaluera les vérifications de sécurité uniquement aux fins de la prise d'une décision au sujet de l'attestation de sécurité. Les détails des vérifications de sécurité seront pris en considération en fonction des fonctions et responsabilités propres au poste à pourvoir. Les dossiers de vérification de l'emploi seront conservés par le BTS dans la plus stricte confidentialité.
  • W-CL-157921/20
    Les renseignements que vous fournissez dans le cadre de ce concours et les résultats du concours peuvent servir à pourvoir d'autres postes. Les postes sont de durée diverse et comprennent notamment des affectations de courte durée. Ces renseignements et résultats seront conservés afin de pourvoir les postes vacants conformément aux dispositions de la convention collective ou de la politique applicable.
Tous les candidats à un emploi (y compris les anciens fonctionnaires de l'Ontario) qui participent à un concours dans un ministère ou à un organisme public rattaché à la Commission doivent divulguer (dans leur lettre d'accompagnement ou leur curriculum vitæ) un emploi occupé antérieurement au sein de la fonction publique de l'Ontario. Les renseignements divulgués doivent comprendre les postes occupés, les dates d'emploi et, le cas échéant, toutes restrictions en vigueur limitant leur réemploi dans la fonction publique de l'Ontario. Les restrictions en vigueur peuvent comprendre des restrictions de temps ou liées à des ministères en particulier, et elles peuvent empêcher d'offrir à un ancien employé un emploi au sein de la fonction publique de l'Ontario pendant une certaine période (p. ex., un an) ou dans un certain ministère (pendant une période prédéterminée ou indéfiniment). Les circonstances entourant le départ d'un employé seront prises en considération avant qu'une offre d'emploi ne lui soit faite.
Rappel : La date limite de candidature est le vendredi 11 décembre 2020 23h59min HNE. Les candidatures reçues en retard seront refusées.

Nous vous remercions de l'intérêt que vous portez à ce poste. Cependant, nous communiquerons avec vous uniquement dans le cadre du processus de présélection ou pour vous convoquer à une entrevue.

Job advertisements for positions that have been designated bilingual will be provided in both English and French on the website. Positions that are not designated bilingual are not translated and are displayed in English only on both the English and French versions of the website.

Les annonces d'emploi pour les postes désignés bilingues sont publiées en anglais et en français sur le site Web. Les annonces pour les postes qui ne sont pas désignés bilingues ne sont pas traduites et elles figurent en anglais seulement, tant dans la version française que dans la version anglaise du site.

La fonction publique de l'Ontario est un employeur inclusif.
Toute adaptation nécessaire sera réalisée conformément au Code des droits de la personne de l'Ontario.
À noter : http://www.gojobs.gov.on.ca est l'unique site Web qui accepte des candidatures en ligne pour un poste dans la fonction publique de l'Ontario.

You must enable JavaScript in your browser to access full functionality on the OPS Careers website.

Vous devez activer JavaScript dans votre navigateur pour avoir accès à toutes les fonctionnalités du site Carrières dans la FPO.


Ontario Logo / Logo de l'Ontario
This site is maintained by the Government of Ontario
Ce site est mis à jour par le gouvernement de l'Ontario

Privacy | Important Notices
Confidentialité | Avis importants

© Queen's Printer for Ontario, 2007
© Imprimeur de la Reine pour l'Ontario, 2007