Apply By: Wednesday, December 20, 2023 11:59 pm EST
Competition Status: Selection Process

Approximately 178 individuals applied for this opportunity.

Applicants who have best demonstrated how they have met the qualifications in the job ad will be invited by phone and/or email to take part in this step of our hiring process. This is your opportunity to show us how you best meet the qualifications outlined in the job ad. Based on the qualifications in the job ad, there may be a written test, presentation and/or an interview.

To learn about our recruitment process, visit our Hiring Process.

Senior Developer/Programmer

Organization:
Ministry of Natural Resources and Forestry
Division:
Land and Resources I+IT Cluster / Digital Solutions Branch
City:
Dryden, Guelph, Peterborough, Sault Ste Marie, Sioux Lookout, South Porcupine, Sudbury, Thunder Bay, Toronto
Language of Position(s):
English
Job Term:
1 Permanent
Job Code:
17160 - Systems Officer 5
Salary:
$1,528.34 - $1,974.34 Per Week*
*Indicates the salary listed as per the OPSEU Collective Agreement.
Posting Status:
Open
Job ID:
205169
Bring your superior technical leadership, design and development experience to the Land and Resources I&IT Cluster and become part of an environment committed to innovation and leading-edge systems.

About Us
We have the privilege of partnering on information and information technology (I+IT) with five ministries. Our business partners safeguard and foster Ontario's environment, lands, resources, mines, forestry, parks, agriculture, and northern, rural and aboriginal communities. We support our ministries' operational IT needs and enable business modernization. Passionately serving Ontarians, we work together to excel in providing modern, digital public services.

What We Do
The Digital Solutions Branch collaborates with cluster partner ministries to co-design, deliver and support digital solutions. We provide leadership in emerging technologies and innovative delivery techniques to enable modern government services.

The Opportunity
You will design, develop, and maintain software systems, applications, and interfaces related to Geographical Information Systems (GIS) technology. If this challenging opportunity interests you, then don't hesitate to apply!

Why work for the Ontario Public Service?
The Ontario Public Service (OPS) offers a competitive compensation package. We support career and leadership development, invest in learning opportunities, and recognize team and individual achievements, and support flexible work arrangements.

To learn more about the compensation package for this position, please visit the Ontario Public Service Employee Union website (http://www.opseu.org) for a copy of the current collective agreements.

Note: These positions are located at 300 Water Street, Peterborough; however, the successful candidates will have the option of working from the following office locations:
• 95 Ghost Lake Road, Dryden
• 62 Queen Street, Sioux Lookout
• 1 Stone Road West, Guelph
• 300 Water Street, Peterborough
• 70 Foster Drive, Sault Ste Marie
• 1235 Queen Street East, Sault Ste Marie
• 5520 Hwy 101 East, South Porcupine
• 159 Cedar Street, Sudbury
• 933 Ramsey Lake Road, Sudbury
• 40 St Clair Avenue West, Toronto
• 99 Wellesley Street, Toronto
• 77 Grenville Street, Toronto
• 435 James Street South, Thunder Bay

OPS Commitment to Diversity, Inclusion, Accessibility, and Anti-Racism:

We are committed to build a workforce that reflects the communities we serve and to promote a diverse, anti-racist, inclusive, accessible, merit-based, respectful and equitable workplace.

We invite all interested individuals to apply and encourage applications from people with disabilities, Indigenous, Black, and racialized individuals, as well as people from a diversity of ethnic and cultural origins, sexual orientations, gender identities and expressions.

Visit the OPS Anti-Racism Policy and the OPS Diversity and Inclusion Blueprint pages to learn more about the OPS commitment to advance racial equity, accessibility, diversity, and inclusion in the public service.

We offer employment accommodation across the recruitment process and all aspects of employment consistent with the requirements of Ontario's Human Rights Code. Refer to the "How to apply" section if you require a disability-related accommodation.

What can I expect to do in this role?

In this role, you will:
• provide technical team leadership to assigned staff and/or project teams
• provide application design, development and data management expertise, including performing analyses and assessments
• lead technical aspects of multiple projects
• work with internal staff and external consultants

How do I qualify?

Technical Expertise

You have:
• advanced knowledge of theory and principles of systems design, configuration, integration and development, IT security, programming concepts and languages, and related methods, techniques, practices and standards
• knowledge of the Cluster technology platforms and system technologies (Esri ArcGIS, VertiGIS/Geocortex, FME, .NET, Java; on-premise, cloud, and multi-tiered environments)
• proven web development experience, including JavaScript, TypeScript, Angular, HTML5, CSS
• knowledge of UI/UX and accessibility best practices, including Accessibility for Ontarians with Disability Act (AODA)
• strong knowledge of SOA and microservice design, web services and related standards (REST, JSON, SOAP)
• knowledge of IT security best practices and protocols (OAuth 2, SAML)
• experience in SDLC, Digital and Agile methodologies, source control, DevOps, CI/CD, and related tools (Git, Azure DevOps, Jira)
• experience with relational and spatial databases (Oracle, PostgeSQL/PostGIS)
• experience with deployment of complex, maintainable and scalable enterprise systems and applications, with the capacity for problem-solving and making sound recommendations and decisions

Interpersonal and Communication Skills

You can:
• work efficiently as a part of agile team
• provide technical leadership to the team in designing, developing, and delivering IT Solutions
• work effectively and collaboratively with team members, client representatives, and vendor partners
• interact professionally with a diverse group of technical professions and subject matter experts
• interview client teams to determine requirements and change requests
• write technical and design documents

Analytical and Problem-Solving Skills

You can:
• investigate and analyze complex technical issues and problems and identify root cause and recommend solutions
• conduct options analysis, cost/benefit analysis on alternate solutions
• analyze business and systems design requirements and provide technical solutions
• gather/analyze client requirement and provide advice to make decisions on how best to deliver solutions based on client needs

Additional Information:

Address:
  • 1 English Permanent, 40 St Clair Ave W, Toronto, Toronto Region or 70 Foster Dr, Sault Ste Marie, North Region or 1 Stone Rd W, Guelph, West Region or 300 Water St, Peterborough, East Region or 95 Ghost Lake Rd, Dryden, North Region or 62 Queen St E, Sioux Lookout, North Region or 1235 Queen St E, Sault Ste Marie, North Region or 5520 Hwy 101 E, South Porcupine, North Region or 159 Cedar St, Sudbury, North Region or 933 Ramsey Lake Rd, Sudbury, North Region or 99 Wellesley St W, Toronto, Toronto Region or 77 Grenville St, Toronto, Toronto Region or 435 James St S, Thunder Bay, North Region
Compensation Group:
Ontario Public Service Employees Union
Schedule:
6
Category:
Information Technology
Posted on:
Wednesday, December 6, 2023
Note:
  • Less qualified applicants may be considered on an underfill basis.
  • The information that you provide for the purpose of this competition and the results from this competition may be used to fill other positions. These positions may be of various tenures including short-term assignments. Your information and the results from this competition will be retained for the purpose of filling vacancies in accordance with the applicable collective agreement or policy provisions.
  • C-NR-205169/23
Please be advised that the results of this competition may be used to form an eligibility list of qualified candidates to potentially fill future vacancies represented by the Ontario Public Service Employees Union (OPSEU). In accordance with the Collective Agreement, eligibility lists are shared with OPSEU representatives. By applying to this competition, you are providing consent that your name may be shared with OPSEU representatives.
All external applicants (including former employees of the Ontario Public Service) applying to a competition in a ministry or Commission public body must disclose (either in the cover letter or resume) previous employment with the Ontario Public Service. Disclosure must include positions held, dates of employment and any active restrictions as applicable from being rehired by the Ontario Public Service. Active restrictions can include time and/or ministry-specific restrictions currently in force, and may preclude a former employee from being offered a position with the Ontario Public Service for a specific time period (e.g. one year), or from being offered a position with a specific ministry (either for a pre-determined time period or indefinitely). The circumstances around an employee's exit will be considered prior to an offer of employment.
Remember: The deadline to apply is Wednesday, December 20, 2023 11:59 pm EST. Late applications will not be accepted.

We thank you for your interest. Only those selected for further screening or an interview will be contacted.

All Ontario Public Service external job advertisements are posted in English and French. To confirm the language requirements of a job, check the "language of position" information at the top of each job ad. For all positions, candidates will be assessed in English, the business language of the Ontario Public Service. For English/French designated bilingual positions, candidates will also be assessed through French-language proficiency testing.

Toutes les offres d'emploi externes de la fonction publique de l'Ontario sont affichées en anglais et en français. Pour connaître les exigences linguistiques, vérifiez les renseignements sur la « langue du poste » figurant dans le haut de chaque offre d'emploi. Pour tous les postes, l'évaluation des candidates et candidats se fera en anglais, la langue usuelle de la fonction publique de l'Ontario. En ce qui concerne les postes désignés bilingues, la maîtrise du français des candidates et candidats sera également évaluée.

The Ontario Public Service is an inclusive employer.
Accommodation is available under the Ontario's Human Rights Code .
Note: The only website where you can apply on-line for positions with the Ontario Public Service is http://www.gojobs.gov.on.ca

You must enable JavaScript in your browser to access full functionality on the OPS Careers website.

Vous devez activer JavaScript dans votre navigateur pour avoir accès à toutes les fonctionnalités du site Carrières dans la FPO.


Ontario Logo / Logo de l'Ontario
This site is maintained by the Government of Ontario
Ce site est mis à jour par le gouvernement de l'Ontario

Privacy | Important Notices
Confidentialité | Avis importants

© Queen's Printer for Ontario, 2007
© Imprimeur de la Reine pour l'Ontario, 2007

Postulez d'ici: le mercredi 20 décembre 2023 23h59min HNE
Étape du concours : Processus de sélection

Environ 178 personnes ont posé leur candidature à ce concours.

Les candidats qui ont le mieux démontré que leurs compétences sont conformes aux exigences indiquées dans l'offre d'emploi seront invités, par téléphone ou par courriel, à participer à cette étape de notre processus d'embauche. C'est l'occasion de nous montrer concrètement en quoi vos compétences correspondent le mieux aux exigences indiquées dans l'offre d'emploi. Selon le cas, il pourrait y avoir un examen écrit, un exposé et/ou une entrevue.

Pour en savoir plus sur notre processus d'embauche, consultez les Processus d'embauche.

Développeur/programmeur principal

Organisme:
Ministère des Richesses naturelles et des Forêts
Division:
Groupement ITI pour les terres et les ressources/Direction des solutions numériques
Ville:
Dryden, Guelph, Peterborough, Sault Ste Marie, Sioux Lookout, South Porcupine, Sudbury, Thunder Bay, Toronto
Langue du ou des postes:
anglais
Conditions:
1 Permanent(s)
Code du poste:
17160 - Agent des systèmes 5
Salaire:
1 528,34 $ - 1 974,34 $ par semaine*
*Indique la rémunération énumérée selon la convention collective conclue avec le SEFPO.
Type de concours:
Ouvert
Numéro du concours:
205169
Apportez votre leadership technique supérieur, votre expérience en matière de conception et de développement au Groupement ITI pour les terres et les ressources et faites partie d'un environnement engagé dans l'innovation et les systèmes de pointe.

À propos de nous
Nous avons le privilège de travailler en partenariat avec cinq ministères dans le domaine de l'information et des technologies de l'information (ITI). Nos partenaires commerciaux protègent et favorisent l'environnement, les terres, les ressources, les mines, les forêts, les parcs, l'agriculture et les communautés nordiques, rurales et autochtones de l'Ontario. Nous répondons aux besoins opérationnels de nos ministères en matière de TI et permettons la modernisation des activités. Passionnément au service des Ontariens, nous travaillons ensemble pour exceller dans la fourniture de services publics numériques modernes.

Ce que nous faisons
La Direction des solutions numériques collabore avec les ministères partenaires du groupement pour co-concevoir, fournir et soutenir des solutions numériques. Nous jouons un rôle de premier plan dans les technologies émergentes et les techniques de prestation novatrices afin de permettre la mise en place de services publics modernes.

Occasion
Vous concevrez, développerez et maintiendrez des systèmes logiciels, des applications et des interfaces liés à la technologie des systèmes d'information géographique (SIG). Si cette occasion stimulante vous intéresse, n'hésitez pas à postuler!

Pourquoi travailler pour la fonction publique de l'Ontario?
La fonction publique de l'Ontario (FPO) offre une rémunération compétitive. Nous soutenons l'avancement professionnel et le perfectionnement du leadership, investissons dans les occasions d'apprentissage, reconnaissons les réalisations individuelles et d'équipe, et soutenons des modalités de travail flexibles.

Pour en savoir plus sur la rémunération de ce poste, veuillez consulter le site Web du Syndicat des employés de la fonction publique de l'Ontario (https://sefpo.org/) pour obtenir une copie des conventions collectives en vigueur.


Remarque: Ces postes sont situés au 300, rue Water, à Peterborough; toutefois, les candidats retenus auront la possibilité de travailler depuis les bureaux suivants :
• 95, chemin Ghost Lake, Dryden
• 62, rue Queen, Sioux Lookout
• 1, chemin Stone Ouest, Guelph
• 300, rue Water, Peterborough
• 70, promenade Foster, Sault Ste. Marie
• 1235, rue Queen Est, Sault Ste. Marie
• 5520, route 101 Est, South Porcupine
• 159, rue Cedar, Sudbury
• 933, chemin Ramsey Lake, Sudbury
• 40, avenue St. Clair Ouest, Toronto
• 99, rue Wellesley, Toronto
• 77, rue Grenville, Toronto
• 435, rue Thames Sud, Thunder Bay

Engagement de la FPO à l'égard de la diversité, de l'inclusion, de l'accessibilité et de la lutte contre le racisme :

Nous sommes résolus à bâtir une main-d'œuvre représentative des gens que nous servons, de même qu'à promouvoir la diversité, l'antiracisme, l'inclusion, l'accessibilité, le mérite, le respect et l'équité en milieu de travail.

Nous invitons toutes les personnes intéressées à postuler, tout particulièrement les personnes handicapées, autochtones, noires, racisées, de diverses origines ethniques et culturelles, de diverses orientations sexuelles et de diverses identités et expressions de genre.

Rendez-vous sur les pages présentant la Politique de la FPO pour la lutte contre le racisme et le Plan directeur pour l'inclusion et la diversité au sein de la FPO pour en savoir plus sur son engagement à l'égard de l'égalité raciale, de l'accessibilité, de la diversité et de l'inclusion dans la fonction publique.

Nous offrons des mesures d'adaptation des emplois tout au long du processus de recrutement et pour tout ce qui touche l'emploi, conformément au Code des droits de la personne de l'Ontario. Si vous avez besoin que l'on prenne des mesures d'adaptation liées à un handicap, veuillez vous reporter aux instructions ci-dessous.

Quelles seront mes fonctions dans ce poste?

Dans ce rôle, vous devrez :
• assurer un leadership d'équipe technique auprès du personnel affecté et/ou des équipes de projet;
• fournir une expertise en matière de conception et de développement d'applications et de gestion des données, y compris la réalisation d'analyses et d'évaluations;
• diriger les aspects techniques de plusieurs projets;
• collaborer avec le personnel interne et les consultants externes.

À quelles exigences dois-je répondre?

Compétences techniques

Vous avez :
• une connaissance avancée de la théorie et des principes de la conception, de la configuration, de l'intégration et du développement de systèmes, de la sécurité informatique, des concepts et langages de programmation, ainsi que des méthodes, des techniques, des pratiques et des normes connexes;
• une connaissance des plateformes technologiques du groupement et des technologies des systèmes (Esri ArcGIS, VertiGIS/Geocortex, FME, .NET, Java; environnements sur site, dans le nuage et à plusieurs niveaux);
• expérience éprouvée du développement Web, notamment JavaScript, TypeScript, Angular, HTML5, CSS;
• connaissance des meilleures pratiques en matière d'interface utilisateur/expérience utilisateur et d'accessibilité, y compris la Loi sur l'accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées de l'Ontario (LAPHO);
• une solide connaissance de la conception de la SOA et des microservices, des services Web et des normes connexes (REST, JSON, SOAP);
• connaissance des meilleures pratiques et protocoles de sécurité des TI (OAuth 2, SAML);
• expérience de la procédure SDLC, des méthodologies numériques et agiles, du contrôle à la source, du développement et de l'exploitation, de l'intégration continue et de la livraison continue ainsi que des outils connexes (Git, Azure DevOps, Jira);
• expérience des bases de données relationnelles et spatiales (Oracle, PostgeSQL/PostGIS);
• expérience en matière de déploiement de systèmes et d'applications d'entreprise complexes, maintenables et évolutifs, avec la capacité de résoudre des problèmes et de formuler des recommandations et des décisions judicieuses.

Compétences en matière de relations interpersonnelles et de communication

Vous pouvez :
• travailler efficacement au sein d'une équipe agile;
• fournir un leadership technique à l'équipe dans la conception, le développement et la fourniture de solutions informatiques;
• travailler efficacement et en collaboration avec les membres de l'équipe, les représentants des clients et les partenaires fournisseurs;
• interagir professionnellement avec un groupe diversifié de professions techniques et d'experts en la matière;
• interroger les équipes de clients pour déterminer les exigences et les demandes de changement;
• rédiger des documents techniques et de conception.

Compétences en matière d'analyse et de résolution de problèmes

Vous pouvez :
• étudier et analyser des questions et des problèmes techniques complexes, déterminer les causes profondes et recommander des solutions;
• effectuer des analyses d'options, des analyses coûts/avantages sur des solutions de rechange;
• analyser les exigences de conception des entreprises et des systèmes et fournir des solutions techniques;
• recueillir/analyser les exigences des clients et fournir des conseils pour prendre des décisions sur la meilleure façon de fournir des solutions basées sur les besoins des clients.

Renseignements supplémentaires:

Adresse:
  • 1 anglais Permanent(s), 40, AV. ST. CLAIR O, Toronto, Région Toronto ou 70 FOSTER DR, Sault Ste Marie, Région Nord ou 1 STONE RD, Guelph, Région Ouest ou 300 rue Water, Peterborough, Région Est ou 95 GHOST LAKE RD, Dryden, Région Nord ou 62, RUE QUEEN, Sioux Lookout, Région Nord ou 1235, RUE QUEEN E, Sault Ste Marie, Région Nord ou 5520 route 101 est, South Porcupine, Région Nord ou 159, rue Cedar, Sudbury, Région Nord ou 933 chemin Ramsey Lake, Sudbury, Région Nord ou 99, RUE WELLESLEY O, Toronto, Région Toronto ou 77 Grenville St, Toronto, Région Toronto ou 435, RUE JAMES S, Thunder Bay, Région Nord
Groupe de rémunération:
Syndicat des employées et employés de la fonction publique de l'Ontario
Horaire:
6
Catégorie:
Technologie de l'information
Date de publication:
le mercredi 6 décembre 2023
Note:
  • On pourra tenir compte de la candidature de personnes moins qualifiées et leur offrir un poste à un niveau inférieur.
  • Les renseignements que vous fournissez dans le cadre de ce concours et les résultats du concours peuvent servir à pourvoir d'autres postes. Les postes sont de durée diverse et comprennent notamment des affectations de courte durée. Ces renseignements et résultats seront conservés afin de pourvoir les postes vacants conformément aux dispositions de la convention collective ou de la politique applicable
  • C-NR-205169/23
Sachez que les résultats de ce concours pourraient servir à établir une liste d'admissibilité de candidats qualifiés à occuper de futurs postes vacants, représentés par le Syndicat des employés de la fonction publique de l'Ontario (SEFPO). Conformément à la convention collective, les listes d'admissibilité sont partagées avec les représentants du SEFPO. En participant à ce concours, vous consentez à transmettre votre nom aux représentants du SEFPO.
Tous les candidats à un emploi (y compris les anciens fonctionnaires de l'Ontario) qui participent à un concours dans un ministère ou à un organisme public rattaché à la Commission doivent divulguer (dans leur lettre d'accompagnement ou leur curriculum vitæ) un emploi occupé antérieurement au sein de la fonction publique de l'Ontario. Les renseignements divulgués doivent comprendre les postes occupés, les dates d'emploi et, le cas échéant, toutes restrictions en vigueur limitant leur réemploi dans la fonction publique de l'Ontario. Les restrictions en vigueur peuvent comprendre des restrictions de temps ou liées à des ministères en particulier, et elles peuvent empêcher d'offrir à un ancien employé un emploi au sein de la fonction publique de l'Ontario pendant une certaine période (p. ex., un an) ou dans un certain ministère (pendant une période prédéterminée ou indéfiniment). Les circonstances entourant le départ d'un employé seront prises en considération avant qu'une offre d'emploi ne lui soit faite.
Rappel : La date limite de candidature est le mercredi 20 décembre 2023 23h59min HNE. Les candidatures reçues en retard seront refusées.

Nous vous remercions de l'intérêt que vous portez à ce poste. Cependant, nous communiquerons avec vous uniquement dans le cadre du processus de présélection ou pour vous convoquer à une entrevue.

All Ontario Public Service external job advertisements are posted in English and French. To confirm the language requirements of a job, check the "language of position" information at the top of each job ad. For all positions, candidates will be assessed in English, the business language of the Ontario Public Service. For English/French designated bilingual positions, candidates will also be assessed through French-language proficiency testing.

Toutes les offres d'emploi externes de la fonction publique de l'Ontario sont affichées en anglais et en français. Pour connaître les exigences linguistiques, vérifiez les renseignements sur la « langue du poste » figurant dans le haut de chaque offre d'emploi. Pour tous les postes, l'évaluation des candidates et candidats se fera en anglais, la langue usuelle de la fonction publique de l'Ontario. En ce qui concerne les postes désignés bilingues, la maîtrise du français des candidates et candidats sera également évaluée.

La fonction publique de l'Ontario est un employeur inclusif.
Toute adaptation nécessaire sera réalisée conformément au Code des droits de la personne de l'Ontario.
À noter : http://www.gojobs.gov.on.ca est l'unique site Web qui accepte des candidatures en ligne pour un poste dans la fonction publique de l'Ontario.

You must enable JavaScript in your browser to access full functionality on the OPS Careers website.

Vous devez activer JavaScript dans votre navigateur pour avoir accès à toutes les fonctionnalités du site Carrières dans la FPO.


Ontario Logo / Logo de l'Ontario
This site is maintained by the Government of Ontario
Ce site est mis à jour par le gouvernement de l'Ontario

Privacy | Important Notices
Confidentialité | Avis importants

© Queen's Printer for Ontario, 2007
© Imprimeur de la Reine pour l'Ontario, 2007