Apply By: Friday, December 22, 2023 11:59 pm EST
Competition Status: Application Screening

Approximately 464 individuals applied for this opportunity.

We are screening ALL applications received on or before the closing date and rating them against the qualifications outlined in the job ad. Applicants whose resume and cover letter best demonstrate how they meet the qualifications to do the job will be invited to continue in the hiring process.

To learn about our recruitment process, visit our Hiring Process.

Data Scientist

Organization:
Ministry of the Solicitor General
Division:
Public Safety Division
City:
Toronto
Language of Position(s):
English
Job Term:
1 Permanent
Job Code:
6A008 - ProgPlanEval06
Salary:
$76,382.00 - $112,555.00 Per Year
Posting Status:
Open
Job ID:
207729
Do you want to be part of an organization promoting excellence, equity and public confidence in policing; one that will optimize evidence-based research and data analysis?

Do you have expert knowledge of data skills, methods, techniques, and tools, including data mining, statistical analysis and models? If so, consider this challenging opportunity the centre of Forensic Sciences, a newly established division, where you will assist with providing leadership, advice, support and education relating to data science analytics, products and tools to support system planning and decision making.

Centre of Forensic Sciences

The Centre of Forensic Sciences prepares legally admissible evidence for law enforcement officers, attorneys, coroners, etc., by scientific examination of physical objects and materials. The centre also supervises Ontario's alcohol breath testing program, and trains operators. A library offers educational materials for persons and agencies using forensic science services.

The Ministry
The Ministry of the Solicitor General is responsible for the safety and security of communities across Ontario through effective policing, correctional services and emergency services programs. The ministry promotes policing excellence by communicating with and providing advice to the police community, as well as through training, developing professional standards and establishing new programs. The Ontario Provincial Police provides front-line policing services to more than 400 municipal and First Nations communities. The ministry is also responsible for maintaining effective and efficient correctional programs that create an environment where offenders are better able to return to the community and make positive contributions to society. Through the work of the Office of the Chief Coroner, Office of the Fire Marshal, Centre of Forensic Sciences and Emergency Management Ontario, the ministry seeks to minimize or eliminate hazards to people and property.

Information Session:
We are offering an opportunity for those interested to attend a virtual session to learn more about the branch and the position to be filled.
Date: Tuesday December 12th, 2023
Time: 10am
Remember to add this event to your calendar

Meeting Link: Information Session - 207729 Data Scientist
Alternatively, you can join the meeting by:
1- Open your MS Teams Calendar
2- Select# Join with an ID
3- Enter the following meeting ID and passcode:
Meeting ID: 296 713 182 153
Passcode: PJXXwn

* This session is optional and has no impact on hiring decisions

OPS Commitment to Diversity, Inclusion, Accessibility, and Anti-Racism:

We are committed to build a workforce that reflects the communities we serve and to promote a diverse, anti-racist, inclusive, accessible, merit-based, respectful and equitable workplace.

We invite all interested individuals to apply and encourage applications from people with disabilities, Indigenous, Black, and racialized individuals, as well as people from a diversity of ethnic and cultural origins, sexual orientations, gender identities and expressions.

Visit the OPS Anti-Racism Policy and the OPS Diversity and Inclusion Blueprint pages to learn more about the OPS commitment to advance racial equity, accessibility, diversity, and inclusion in the public service.

We offer employment accommodation across the recruitment process and all aspects of employment consistent with the requirements of Ontario's Human Rights Code. Refer to the "How to apply" section if you require a disability-related accommodation.

What can I expect to do in this role?

As Data Scientist, you will:

• Develop data science analytic approaches such as machine learning, deep learning, and natural language programming
• Assist with the development of compelling and effective data visualizations
• Develop interactive dashboards, reports and data visualizations allowing the end-user to explore data and discover insights independently
• Provide data services, interpretation, advice, peer reviews and expertise to client groups and stakeholders
• Communicate data through presentations and interactive dashboards
• Lead/participate in special projects and represents the Ministry on internal/external advisory groups, working groups, task forces and committees
• Lead the design, development and implementation of prototypes and proof of concepts for data, analytic and predictive models, research products and analysis platforms

How do I qualify?

Technical Knowledge

• You demonstrate knowledge of data skills, methods, techniques, and tools.
• You understand information management, data management, financial and business analysis, database architecture, and data-related concepts
• You have knowledge and experience in the use of mathematics, statistics and scientific methods
• You have knowledge of methods such as machine learning/deep learning/neural networks
• You understand legislative regulations, policies and guidelines, policy development processes and data standards

Research, Analytical and Problem-Solving Skills

You can:
• Apply investigation and risk management principles.
• Analyze data in source systems to identify data quality issues.
• Manipulate and analyze complex, high-volume data.
• Assess qualitative and quantitative information.
• Use creative thinking and propose innovative ways as it relates to data mining, behavioural economics, statistics and statistical models.

Consultation, Advisory and Communication Skills

You have:
• Consensus-building skills to maintain strong work relationships
• Negotiation and consultation skills to resolve contentious issues
• Communication skills to prepare technical and non-technical status reports, and provide explanations on data issues and complex data analyses

Coding and Computer Skills

You have:
• Experience with coding skills in various data languages and proficiency with various desktop/cloud statistical computing, modelling, analytics and data visualization software tools
• Computer proficiency to access databases, conduct research and use applications to retrieve and manipulate data from databases located on different platforms

Additional Information:

Address:
  • 1 English Permanent - Full Time, 25 Morton Shulman Ave, Toronto, Toronto Region, Criminal Record and Judicial Matters Check (Fingerprint Based)
Compensation Group:
Association of Management, Administrative and Professional Crown Employees of Ontario
Schedule:
6
Category:
Information Technology
Posted on:
Tuesday, December 5, 2023
Note:
  • In accordance with the Ontario Public Service (OPS), Employment Screening Checks Policy (ESCP), the top candidate(s) may be required to undergo a security screening check. Refer to the above to determine the screening checks that are required for this position.

    Required security screening checks along with your written consent, will be sent to the Transition and Security Office (TSO), Corporate Talent Programs Branch, Talent and Leadership Division to evaluate the results. If applicable, the TSO, with your written consent, will request and obtain any additional employment screening checks that were not obtained directly by you.

    A record under the Criminal Code and/or other federal offence record(s) does not automatically mean you will be ineligible for the position. The employment screening check(s) will only be reviewed and evaluated by the TSO for the purpose of making a security clearance decision. The details of an individual's employment screening check(s) will be considered in specific relation to the duties and responsibilities of the position being filled. Employment screening check records will be maintained by the TSO and kept strictly confidential.
  • The information that you provide for the purpose of this competition and the results from this competition may be used to fill other positions. These positions may be of various tenures including short-term assignments. Your information and the results from this competition will be retained for the purpose of filling vacancies in accordance with the applicable collective agreement or policy provisions.
  • C-SL-207729/23
All external applicants (including former employees of the Ontario Public Service) applying to a competition in a ministry or Commission public body must disclose (either in the cover letter or resume) previous employment with the Ontario Public Service. Disclosure must include positions held, dates of employment and any active restrictions as applicable from being rehired by the Ontario Public Service. Active restrictions can include time and/or ministry-specific restrictions currently in force, and may preclude a former employee from being offered a position with the Ontario Public Service for a specific time period (e.g. one year), or from being offered a position with a specific ministry (either for a pre-determined time period or indefinitely). The circumstances around an employee's exit will be considered prior to an offer of employment.
Remember: The deadline to apply is Friday, December 22, 2023 11:59 pm EST. Late applications will not be accepted.

We thank you for your interest. Only those selected for further screening or an interview will be contacted.

All Ontario Public Service external job advertisements are posted in English and French. To confirm the language requirements of a job, check the "language of position" information at the top of each job ad. For all positions, candidates will be assessed in English, the business language of the Ontario Public Service. For English/French designated bilingual positions, candidates will also be assessed through French-language proficiency testing.

Toutes les offres d'emploi externes de la fonction publique de l'Ontario sont affichées en anglais et en français. Pour connaître les exigences linguistiques, vérifiez les renseignements sur la « langue du poste » figurant dans le haut de chaque offre d'emploi. Pour tous les postes, l'évaluation des candidates et candidats se fera en anglais, la langue usuelle de la fonction publique de l'Ontario. En ce qui concerne les postes désignés bilingues, la maîtrise du français des candidates et candidats sera également évaluée.

The Ontario Public Service is an inclusive employer.
Accommodation is available under the Ontario's Human Rights Code .
Note: The only website where you can apply on-line for positions with the Ontario Public Service is http://www.gojobs.gov.on.ca

You must enable JavaScript in your browser to access full functionality on the OPS Careers website.

Vous devez activer JavaScript dans votre navigateur pour avoir accès à toutes les fonctionnalités du site Carrières dans la FPO.


Ontario Logo / Logo de l'Ontario
This site is maintained by the Government of Ontario
Ce site est mis à jour par le gouvernement de l'Ontario

Privacy | Important Notices
Confidentialité | Avis importants

© Queen's Printer for Ontario, 2007
© Imprimeur de la Reine pour l'Ontario, 2007

Postulez d'ici: le vendredi 22 décembre 2023 23h59min HNE
Étapes Du Concours : Examen des candidatures

Environ 464 personnes ont posé leur candidature à ce concours.

Nous trions TOUTES les candidatures reçues avant et jusqu'à la date de clôture, puis nous les classons en fonction des compétences stipulées sur l'avis d'emploi. Les candidats dont le curriculum vitae et la lettre d'accompagnement font état de compétences correspondant le mieux aux exigences du poste seront invités a poursuivre le processus d'embauche.

Pour en savoir plus sur ce dernier, consultez les Processus d'embauche.

Scientifique, données

Organisme:
Ministère du Solliciteur général
Division:
Division de la sécurité publique
Ville:
Toronto
Langue du ou des postes:
anglais
Conditions:
1 Permanent(s)
Code du poste:
6A008 - Éval plan prog06
Salaire:
76 382,00 $ - 112 555,00 $ par année
Type de concours:
Ouvert
Numéro du concours:
207729
Vous souhaitez faire partie d'une organisation qui promeut l'excellence, l'équité et la confiance du public dans les services de police; une organisation qui optimise la recherche fondée sur des données probantes et l'analyse de données?

Vous avez une connaissance approfondie des compétences, des méthodes, des techniques et des outils liés aux données, y compris l'exploration de données, l'analyse statistique et les modèles? Si c'est le cas, envisagez cette occasion stimulante au sein du Centre des sciences judiciaires, une division nouvellement créée où vos contribuerez à fournir un leadership, des conseils, un soutien et de la formation en matière d'analyse de données scientifiques, de produits et d'outils pour soutenir la planification du système et la prise de décision.

Centre des sciences judiciaires

Le Centre des sciences judiciaires prépare des éléments de preuve légalement admissibles à l'intention des agents chargés de l'application de la loi, des avocats, des médecins légistes, etc. en effectuant l'examen scientifique d'objets et de matériaux. Le centre supervise également le programme ontarien de détection de l'alcool par test-haleine et forme les opérateurs. Une bibliothèque propose du matériel pédagogique aux personnes et aux organismes qui utilisent les services de sciences judiciaires.

Le ministère
Le ministère du Solliciteur général est chargé d'assurer la sûreté et la sécurité des communautés de l'Ontario par des programmes efficaces de maintien de l'ordre, de services correctionnels et de services d'urgence. Le Ministère promeut l'excellence des services de police en communiquant avec la communauté policière et en la conseillant, ainsi qu'en organisant des formations, en élaborant des normes professionnelles et en mettant en place de nouveaux programmes. La police provinciale de l'Ontario fournit des services de police de première ligne à plus de 400 communautés municipales et des Premières Nations. Le Ministère est également chargé de maintenir des programmes correctionnels efficaces qui créent un environnement où les détenus sont plus à même de retourner dans la communauté et d'apporter une contribution positive à la société. Grâce au travail du Bureau du coroner en chef, du Bureau du commissaire des incendies, du Centre des sciences judiciaires et de Gestion des situations d'urgence Ontario, le Ministère s'efforce de minimiser ou d'éliminer les risques pour les personnes et les biens.

Séance d'information :
Nous offrons la possibilité aux personnes intéressées de participer à une séance virtuelle pour en apprendre plus sur la direction et le poste à pourvoir.
Date : mardi 12 décembre
Heure : 10 h
N'oubliez pas d'ajouter cet événement à votre calendrier

Lien de la réunion : Séance d'information - 207729 Data Scientist
Vous pouvez également rejoindre la réunion en :
1- Ouvrant votre calendrier MS Teams
2- Cliquant sur Rejoindre avec un ID
3- Saisissant l'identifiant de la réunion et le code d'accès suivants :
ID de la réunion : 296 713 182 153
Code d'accès : PJXXwn

* Cette session est facultative et n'a aucun impact sur les décisions d'embauche.

Engagement de la FPO à l'égard de la diversité, de l'inclusion, de l'accessibilité et de la lutte contre le racisme :

Nous sommes résolus à bâtir une main-d'œuvre représentative des gens que nous servons, de même qu'à promouvoir la diversité, l'antiracisme, l'inclusion, l'accessibilité, le mérite, le respect et l'équité en milieu de travail.

Nous invitons toutes les personnes intéressées à postuler, tout particulièrement les personnes handicapées, autochtones, noires, racisées, de diverses origines ethniques et culturelles, de diverses orientations sexuelles et de diverses identités et expressions de genre.

Rendez-vous sur les pages présentant la Politique de la FPO pour la lutte contre le racisme et le Plan directeur pour l'inclusion et la diversité au sein de la FPO pour en savoir plus sur son engagement à l'égard de l'égalité raciale, de l'accessibilité, de la diversité et de l'inclusion dans la fonction publique.

Nous offrons des mesures d'adaptation des emplois tout au long du processus de recrutement et pour tout ce qui touche l'emploi, conformément au Code des droits de la personne de l'Ontario. Si vous avez besoin que l'on prenne des mesures d'adaptation liées à un handicap, veuillez vous reporter aux instructions ci-dessous.

Quelles seront mes fonctions dans ce poste?

En tant que scientifique, données, vous devrez :

• élaborer des approches analytiques de la science des données telles que l'apprentissage automatique, l'apprentissage profond et la programmation en langage naturel;
• contribuer à l'élaboration de visualisations de données convaincantes et efficaces;
• élaborer des tableaux de bord interactifs, des rapports et des visualisations de données permettant aux utilisateurs finaux d'explorer les données et de découvrir des idées de manière indépendante;
• fournir des services de données, des interprétations, des conseils, des examens par les pairs et de l'expertise aux groupes de clients et aux parties prenantes;
• communiquer des données au moyen de présentations et de tableaux de bord interactifs;
• diriger ou participer à des projets spéciaux et représenter le Ministère au sein de groupes consultatifs internes et externes, de groupes de travail et de comités;
• diriger la conception, l'élaboration et la mise en œuvre de prototypes et de preuves de concept pour les données, les modèles analytiques et prédictifs, les produits de recherche et les plateformes d'analyse.

À quelles exigences dois-je répondre?

Connaissances techniques

• Vous démontrez votre connaissance des compétences, des méthodes, des techniques et des outils liés aux données.
• Vous comprenez la gestion de l'information, la gestion des données, l'analyse financière et commerciale, l'architecture des bases de données et les concepts liés aux données.
• Vous avez des connaissances et de l'expérience de l'utilisation des mathématiques, des statistiques et des méthodes scientifiques.
• Vous avez une connaissance de méthodes telles que l'apprentissage automatique, l'apprentissage profond et les réseaux de neurones.
• Vous comprenez les réglementations législatives, les politiques et les lignes directrices, les processus d'élaboration des politiques et les normes en matière de données.

Compétences en matière de recherche, d'analyse et de résolution de problèmes

Vous pouvez :
• appliquer les principes de l'investigation et de la gestion des risques;
• analyser les données dans les systèmes sources afin de relever les problèmes de qualité des données;
• manipuler et analyser des données complexes et volumineuses;
• évaluer les informations qualitatives et quantitatives;
• faire preuve de créativité et proposer des solutions innovantes en matière d'exploration de données, d'économie comportementale, de statistiques et de modèles statistiques.

Compétences en matière de consultation, de conseil et de communication

Vous avez :
• des compétences en matière de recherche de consensus pour maintenir des relations de travail solides;
• des compétences en matière de négociation et de consultation pour résoudre les questions litigieuses;
• des compétences en communication pour préparer des rapports d'état techniques et non techniques, et fournir des explications sur des questions de données et des analyses de données complexes.

Compétences informatiques et compétences en matière de codage

Vous avez :
• une expérience des compétences en codage dans divers langages de données et une maîtrise de divers outils logiciels de calcul statistique, de modélisation, d'analyse et de visualisation de données sur ordinateur ou dans le nuage;
• des compétences informatiques pour accéder aux bases de données, mener des recherches et utiliser des applications pour extraire et manipuler des données à partir de bases de données situées sur différentes plateformes.

Renseignements supplémentaires:

Adresse:
  • 1 anglais Permanent(s) - Temps plein, 25 Morton Shulman Ave, Toronto, Région Toronto, Vérification de casier judiciaire et d'affaires judiciaires (empreintes digitales)
Groupe de rémunération:
Association des employées et employés gestionnaires, administratifs et professionnels de la couronne de l'Ontario
Horaire:
6
Catégorie:
Technologie de l'information
Date de publication:
le mardi 5 décembre 2023
Note:
  • Conformément à la Politique relative aux vérifications de sécurité du personnel de la fonction publique de l'Ontario, les meilleurs candidats pourraient être tenus de se soumettre à une enquête de sécurité générale. Reportez-vous à ce qui précède pour déterminer les vérifications de présélection nécessaires pour ce poste.

    Les vérifications des antecedents du personnel requises, accompagnées de votre consentement écrit, seront envoyées au Bureau de la transition et de la sécurité (TSO), Direction des programmes relatifs au talent pour la FPO, à la Division du talent et du leadership pour évaluer les résultats. Si necessaire, le TSO, avec votre consentement écrit, demandera et obtiendra toute autre vérification des antécédents additionnels que vous n'auriez pas obtenue directement.

    Un casier judiciaire pour une infraction au Code criminel ou une autre infraction fédérale ne signifie pas automatiquement que vous ne serez pas admissible au poste. Le BTS examinera et évaluera les vérifications de sécurité uniquement aux fins de la prise d'une décision au sujet de l'attestation de sécurité. Les détails des vérifications de sécurité seront pris en considération en fonction des fonctions et responsabilités propres au poste à pourvoir. Les dossiers de vérification de l'emploi seront conservés par le BTS dans la plus stricte confidentialité.
  • Les renseignements que vous fournissez dans le cadre de ce concours et les résultats du concours peuvent servir à pourvoir d'autres postes. Les postes sont de durée diverse et comprennent notamment des affectations de courte durée. Ces renseignements et résultats seront conservés afin de pourvoir les postes vacants conformément aux dispositions de la convention collective ou de la politique applicable
  • C-SL-207729/23
Tous les candidats à un emploi (y compris les anciens fonctionnaires de l'Ontario) qui participent à un concours dans un ministère ou à un organisme public rattaché à la Commission doivent divulguer (dans leur lettre d'accompagnement ou leur curriculum vitæ) un emploi occupé antérieurement au sein de la fonction publique de l'Ontario. Les renseignements divulgués doivent comprendre les postes occupés, les dates d'emploi et, le cas échéant, toutes restrictions en vigueur limitant leur réemploi dans la fonction publique de l'Ontario. Les restrictions en vigueur peuvent comprendre des restrictions de temps ou liées à des ministères en particulier, et elles peuvent empêcher d'offrir à un ancien employé un emploi au sein de la fonction publique de l'Ontario pendant une certaine période (p. ex., un an) ou dans un certain ministère (pendant une période prédéterminée ou indéfiniment). Les circonstances entourant le départ d'un employé seront prises en considération avant qu'une offre d'emploi ne lui soit faite.
Rappel : La date limite de candidature est le vendredi 22 décembre 2023 23h59min HNE. Les candidatures reçues en retard seront refusées.

Nous vous remercions de l'intérêt que vous portez à ce poste. Cependant, nous communiquerons avec vous uniquement dans le cadre du processus de présélection ou pour vous convoquer à une entrevue.

All Ontario Public Service external job advertisements are posted in English and French. To confirm the language requirements of a job, check the "language of position" information at the top of each job ad. For all positions, candidates will be assessed in English, the business language of the Ontario Public Service. For English/French designated bilingual positions, candidates will also be assessed through French-language proficiency testing.

Toutes les offres d'emploi externes de la fonction publique de l'Ontario sont affichées en anglais et en français. Pour connaître les exigences linguistiques, vérifiez les renseignements sur la « langue du poste » figurant dans le haut de chaque offre d'emploi. Pour tous les postes, l'évaluation des candidates et candidats se fera en anglais, la langue usuelle de la fonction publique de l'Ontario. En ce qui concerne les postes désignés bilingues, la maîtrise du français des candidates et candidats sera également évaluée.

La fonction publique de l'Ontario est un employeur inclusif.
Toute adaptation nécessaire sera réalisée conformément au Code des droits de la personne de l'Ontario.
À noter : http://www.gojobs.gov.on.ca est l'unique site Web qui accepte des candidatures en ligne pour un poste dans la fonction publique de l'Ontario.

You must enable JavaScript in your browser to access full functionality on the OPS Careers website.

Vous devez activer JavaScript dans votre navigateur pour avoir accès à toutes les fonctionnalités du site Carrières dans la FPO.


Ontario Logo / Logo de l'Ontario
This site is maintained by the Government of Ontario
Ce site est mis à jour par le gouvernement de l'Ontario

Privacy | Important Notices
Confidentialité | Avis importants

© Queen's Printer for Ontario, 2007
© Imprimeur de la Reine pour l'Ontario, 2007