Apply By: Monday, January 29, 2024 11:59 pm EST
Competition Status: Application Screening

Fewer than thirty individuals applied for this opportunity.

We are screening ALL applications received on or before the closing date and rating them against the qualifications outlined in the job ad. Applicants whose resume and cover letter best demonstrate how they meet the qualifications to do the job will be invited to continue in the hiring process.

To learn about our recruitment process, visit our Hiring Process.

Food Services Officer (On-Call Cook)

Organization:
Ministry of the Solicitor General
Division:
Hamilton-Wentworth Detention Centre
City:
Hamilton
Language of Position(s):
English
Job Term:
1 Temporary (on-call, up to 6 months, with possibility of extension)
Job Code:
C50214 - Cook 2 (COR)
Salary:
$23.33 - $25.22 Per Hour*
*Indicates the salary listed as per the OPSEU Collective Agreement.
Posting Status:
Open
Job ID:
209413
Are you an experienced food service professional ready to apply your skills in a large-volume cooking operation? If so, bring your culinary expertise to this position at the Hamilton-Wentworth Detention Centre.

Please note:
• These positions require you to work on an on-call basis. The hours of work are 0 to 40 hours per week, including weekends and statutory holidays, based on operational requirements and with no guaranteed hours.
• These positions require working with and providing direction to inmate helpers

OPS Commitment to Diversity, Inclusion, Accessibility, and Anti-Racism:

We are committed to build a workforce that reflects the communities we serve and to promote a diverse, anti-racist, inclusive, accessible, merit-based, respectful and equitable workplace.

We invite all interested individuals to apply and encourage applications from people with disabilities, Indigenous, Black, and racialized individuals, as well as people from a diversity of ethnic and cultural origins, sexual orientations, gender identities and expressions.

Visit the OPS Anti-Racism Policy and the OPS Diversity and Inclusion Blueprint pages to learn more about the OPS commitment to advance racial equity, accessibility, diversity, and inclusion in the public service.

We offer employment accommodation across the recruitment process and all aspects of employment consistent with the requirements of Ontario's Human Rights Code. Refer to the "How to apply" section if you require a disability-related accommodation.

What can I expect to do in this role?

• Ensure the efficient, economical production of meals on an assigned shift
• Ensure meals are prepared to accepted standards, in accordance to pre-determined menus which must be served on time while maintaining all principles of cleanliness, safety and security
• Prepare a wide variety of foods including complete meals, restricted diets, salads, snacks, and beverages through standard volume cooking and baking methods, portion control, presentation and service
• Orient and provide instruction and direction to inmate helpers
• Other duties, as required

How do I qualify?

Mandatory

• You have a Cook's certificate issued by appropriate Ministry OR acceptable equivalent knowledge and experience necessary to be eligible to write certificate examination
• You have a valid Food Handler Certificate (either currently or previously certified and can obtain re-certification upon hire)

Food Services Knowledge and Skills

• You have knowledge of general and volume cooking/baking methods and procedures
• You have experience with food preparation and storage procedures/methods as well as portion control standards
• You have experience preparing a variety of foods and restricted diets
• You know food safety practices and proper use of kitchen equipment
• You understand and can follow health and safety practices and standards (such as Occupational Health and Safety Act, WHMIS, Public Health Act, Health Protection and Promotion Act, Sanitation Code for Canada's Food Industry, etc.)
• You have demonstrated ability to understand and follow workplace policies/protocols in order to maintain the safety and security of the kitchen

Communication and Team Leadership Skills

• You can provide instruction and direction to inmate helpers in cooking methods and kitchen cleanliness and appraise performance
• You have demonstrated tact and diplomacy to work with ministry staff, inmate helpers, and service providers to address issues
• You have written communication skills to prepare various reports

Other Essential Skills

• You have analytical and problem-solving skills to identify, assess, and resolve equipment/appliance malfunctions, supply shortage, sanitation and hygiene control, and food service issues
• You have basic computer skills to input, track and record data

Additional Information:

Address:
  • 1 English Temporary - Irregular On-Call, duration up to 6 months, 165 Barton St E, Hamilton, West Region, Vulnerable Sector Check, Credit History Check, Local Police Databases Search, PIP/NICHE/RMS
Compensation Group:
Ontario Public Service Employees Union
Schedule:
4-7
Category:
Corrections and Enforcement
Posted on:
Tuesday, January 9, 2024
Note:
  • In accordance with the Ontario Public Service (OPS), Employment Screening Checks Policy (ESCP), the top candidate(s) may be required to undergo a security screening check. Refer to the above to determine the screening checks that are required for this position.

    Required security screening checks along with your written consent, will be sent to the Transition and Security Office (TSO), Corporate Talent Programs Branch, Talent and Leadership Division to evaluate the results. If applicable, the TSO, with your written consent, will request and obtain any additional employment screening checks that were not obtained directly by you.

    A record under the Criminal Code and/or other federal offence record(s) does not automatically mean you will be ineligible for the position. The employment screening check(s) will only be reviewed and evaluated by the TSO for the purpose of making a security clearance decision. The details of an individual's employment screening check(s) will be considered in specific relation to the duties and responsibilities of the position being filled. Employment screening check records will be maintained by the TSO and kept strictly confidential.
  • Employees working in congregate living settings may be required to provide proof they are fully vaccinated, meaning they are fully vaccinated as defined by the Ministry of Health (refer to: COVID-19 Fully Vaccinated Status in Ontario), including 14 calendar days have passed since receiving their final dose of the COVID-19 vaccine. Furthermore, employees working in congregate living settings may be required to undergo regular rapid antigen testing, regardless of vaccination status, as determined by the Employer.
Please be advised that the results of this competition may be used to form an eligibility list of qualified candidates to potentially fill future vacancies represented by the Ontario Public Service Employees Union (OPSEU). In accordance with the Collective Agreement, eligibility lists are shared with OPSEU representatives. By applying to this competition, you are providing consent that your name may be shared with OPSEU representatives.
All external applicants (including former employees of the Ontario Public Service) applying to a competition in a ministry or Commission public body must disclose (either in the cover letter or resume) previous employment with the Ontario Public Service. Disclosure must include positions held, dates of employment and any active restrictions as applicable from being rehired by the Ontario Public Service. Active restrictions can include time and/or ministry-specific restrictions currently in force, and may preclude a former employee from being offered a position with the Ontario Public Service for a specific time period (e.g. one year), or from being offered a position with a specific ministry (either for a pre-determined time period or indefinitely). The circumstances around an employee's exit will be considered prior to an offer of employment.
Remember: The deadline to apply is Monday, January 29, 2024 11:59 pm EST. Late applications will not be accepted.

We thank you for your interest. Only those selected for further screening or an interview will be contacted.

All Ontario Public Service external job advertisements are posted in English and French. To confirm the language requirements of a job, check the "language of position" information at the top of each job ad. For all positions, candidates will be assessed in English, the business language of the Ontario Public Service. For English/French designated bilingual positions, candidates will also be assessed through French-language proficiency testing.

Toutes les offres d'emploi externes de la fonction publique de l'Ontario sont affichées en anglais et en français. Pour connaître les exigences linguistiques, vérifiez les renseignements sur la « langue du poste » figurant dans le haut de chaque offre d'emploi. Pour tous les postes, l'évaluation des candidates et candidats se fera en anglais, la langue usuelle de la fonction publique de l'Ontario. En ce qui concerne les postes désignés bilingues, la maîtrise du français des candidates et candidats sera également évaluée.

The Ontario Public Service is an inclusive employer.
Accommodation is available under the Ontario's Human Rights Code .
Note: The only website where you can apply on-line for positions with the Ontario Public Service is http://www.gojobs.gov.on.ca

You must enable JavaScript in your browser to access full functionality on the OPS Careers website.

Vous devez activer JavaScript dans votre navigateur pour avoir accès à toutes les fonctionnalités du site Carrières dans la FPO.


Ontario Logo / Logo de l'Ontario
This site is maintained by the Government of Ontario
Ce site est mis à jour par le gouvernement de l'Ontario

Privacy | Important Notices
Confidentialité | Avis importants

© Queen's Printer for Ontario, 2007
© Imprimeur de la Reine pour l'Ontario, 2007

Postulez d'ici: le lundi 29 janvier 2024 23h59min HNE
Étape du concours : Processus de sélection

Moins de 30 personnes ont posé leur candidature à ce concours.

Les candidats qui ont le mieux démontré que leurs compétences sont conformes aux exigences indiquées dans l'offre d'emploi seront invités, par téléphone ou par courriel, à participer à cette étape de notre processus d'embauche. C'est l'occasion de nous montrer concrètement en quoi vos compétences correspondent le mieux aux exigences indiquées dans l'offre d'emploi. Selon le cas, il pourrait y avoir un examen écrit, un exposé et/ou une entrevue.

Pour en savoir plus sur notre processus d'embauche, consultez les Processus d'embauche.

Agent des services alimentaires

Organisme:
Ministère du Solliciteur général
Division:
Centre de détention de Hamilton-Wentworth
Ville:
Hamilton
Langue du ou des postes:
anglais
Conditions:
1 Temporaire(s) de garde, jusqu'à 6 mois, avec possibilité de prolongation
Code du poste:
C50214 - Cuisinier 2 (COR)
Salaire:
25,62 $ - 27,70 $ de l'heure*
*Indique la rémunération énumérée selon la convention collective conclue avec le SEFPO.
Type de concours:
Ouvert
Numéro du concours:
209413
Vous êtes un professionnel expérimenté de la restauration, prêt à mettre en œuvre vos compétences dans une opération de cuisine à grand volume? Si c'est le cas, apportez votre expertise culinaire pour combler ce poste au Centre de détention de Hamilton-Wentworth.

Remarque :
• Ce poste nécessite de travailler avec les aides-détenus et de leur donner des instructions.

Engagement de la FPO à l'égard de la diversité, de l'inclusion, de l'accessibilité et de la lutte contre le racisme :

Nous sommes résolus à bâtir une main-d'œuvre représentative des gens que nous servons, de même qu'à promouvoir la diversité, l'antiracisme, l'inclusion, l'accessibilité, le mérite, le respect et l'équité en milieu de travail.

Nous invitons toutes les personnes intéressées à postuler, tout particulièrement les personnes handicapées, autochtones, noires, racisées, de diverses origines ethniques et culturelles, de diverses orientations sexuelles et de diverses identités et expressions de genre.

Rendez-vous sur les pages présentant la Politique de la FPO pour la lutte contre le racisme et le Plan directeur pour l'inclusion et la diversité au sein de la FPO pour en savoir plus sur son engagement à l'égard de l'égalité raciale, de l'accessibilité, de la diversité et de l'inclusion dans la fonction publique.

Nous offrons des mesures d'adaptation des emplois tout au long du processus de recrutement et pour tout ce qui touche l'emploi, conformément au Code des droits de la personne de l'Ontario. Si vous avez besoin que l'on prenne des mesures d'adaptation liées à un handicap, veuillez vous reporter aux instructions ci-dessous.

Quelles seront mes fonctions dans ce poste?

Quelles seront mes fonctions dans ce poste?

• Ensure the efficient, economical production of meals on an assigned shift
• Ensure meals are prepared to accepted standards, in accordance to pre-determined menus which must be served on time while maintaining all principles of cleanliness, safety and security
• Prepare a wide variety of foods including complete meals, restricted diets, salads, snacks, and beverages through standard volume cooking and baking methods, portion control, presentation and service
• Orient and provide instruction and direction to inmate helpers
• Other duties, as required
• Assurer la production efficace et économique des repas au cours d'une période de travail donnée.
• Veiller à ce que les repas soient préparés selon des normes reconnues, conformément à des menus prédéterminés qui doivent être servis à temps tout en respectant tous les principes de propreté, de sûreté et de sécurité.
• Préparer une grande variété d'aliments, y compris des repas complets, des régimes restreints, des salades, des collations et des boissons, en utilisant des méthodes de cuisine et de cuisson de volume standard, en contrôlant les portions, en présentant les aliments et en assurant le service.
• Orienter et donner des instructions et des directives aux aides-détenus.
• Autres tâches, le cas échéant.

À quelles exigences dois-je répondre?

Ce qui est obligatoire :

• Vous êtes titulaire d'un certificat de cuisinier délivré par le ministère compétent OU vous possédez les connaissances et l'expérience équivalentes nécessaires pour vous présenter à l'examen du certificat.

Connaissances et compétences en restauration

• Vous avez une connaissance des méthodes et procédures de cuisine et de cuisson générales et par volume.
• Vous avez de l'expérience dans les procédures/méthodes de préparation et de stockage des aliments ainsi que dans les normes de contrôle des portions.
• Vous avez de l'expérience dans la préparation d'une variété d'aliments et de régimes restreints.
• Vous connaissez les pratiques de sécurité alimentaire et l'utilisation correcte des équipements de cuisine.
• Vous comprenez et pouvez suivre les pratiques et les normes en matière de santé et de sécurité (telles que la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail, le SIMDUT, la Loi sur la santé publique, la Loi sur la protection et la promotion de la santé, le code d'hygiène de l'industrie alimentaire canadienne, etc.).
• Vous avez démontré votre capacité à comprendre et à suivre les politiques/protocoles du lieu de travail afin de maintenir la sûreté et la sécurité de la cuisine.

Compétences en communication et en leadership d'équipe

• You can provide instruction and direction to inmate helpers in cooking methods and kitchen cleanliness and appraise performance
• You have demonstrated tact and diplomacy to work with ministry staff, inmate helpers, and service providers to address issues
• You have written communication skills to prepare various reports

Other Essential Skills • Vous pouvez donner des instructions et des directives aux aides-détenus en ce qui concerne les méthodes de cuisson et la propreté de la cuisine, et évaluer leur rendement.
• Vous avez fait preuve de tact et de diplomatie pour travailler avec le personnel du Ministère, les aides-détenus et les prestataires de services afin de résoudre les problèmes.
• Vous avez des compétences en communication écrite pour préparer divers rapports.

Autres compétences essentielles

• Vous avez des capacités d'analyse et de résolution de problèmes pour déceler, évaluer et résoudre les mauvais fonctionnements des équipements/appareils, les ruptures d'approvisionnement, le contrôle de l'assainissement et de l'hygiène et les problèmes liés au service alimentaire.
• Vous avez des compétences informatiques de base pour saisir, suivre et enregistrer des données.

Renseignements supplémentaires:

Adresse:
  • 1 anglais Temporaire(s) - Irrégulier(s) - sur appel, durée jusqu'à 6 mois, 165, RUE BARTON E, Hamilton, Région Ouest, Vérification des antécédents en vue d'un travail auprès de personnes vulnérables, Vérification de la solvabilité, Recherche dans les bases de données des services de police locaux, PIP/NICHE/RMS
Groupe de rémunération:
Syndicat des employées et employés de la fonction publique de l'Ontario
Horaire:
4-7
Catégorie:
Services correctionnels et application de la loi
Date de publication:
le mardi 9 janvier 2024
Note:
  • Conformément à la Politique relative aux vérifications de sécurité du personnel de la fonction publique de l'Ontario, les meilleurs candidats pourraient être tenus de se soumettre à une enquête de sécurité générale. Reportez-vous à ce qui précède pour déterminer les vérifications de présélection nécessaires pour ce poste.

    Les vérifications des antecedents du personnel requises, accompagnées de votre consentement écrit, seront envoyées au Bureau de la transition et de la sécurité (TSO), Direction des programmes relatifs au talent pour la FPO, à la Division du talent et du leadership pour évaluer les résultats. Si necessaire, le TSO, avec votre consentement écrit, demandera et obtiendra toute autre vérification des antécédents additionnels que vous n'auriez pas obtenue directement.

    Un casier judiciaire pour une infraction au Code criminel ou une autre infraction fédérale ne signifie pas automatiquement que vous ne serez pas admissible au poste. Le BTS examinera et évaluera les vérifications de sécurité uniquement aux fins de la prise d'une décision au sujet de l'attestation de sécurité. Les détails des vérifications de sécurité seront pris en considération en fonction des fonctions et responsabilités propres au poste à pourvoir. Les dossiers de vérification de l'emploi seront conservés par le BTS dans la plus stricte confidentialité.
Sachez que les résultats de ce concours pourraient servir à établir une liste d'admissibilité de candidats qualifiés à occuper de futurs postes vacants, représentés par le Syndicat des employés de la fonction publique de l'Ontario (SEFPO). Conformément à la convention collective, les listes d'admissibilité sont partagées avec les représentants du SEFPO. En participant à ce concours, vous consentez à transmettre votre nom aux représentants du SEFPO.
Tous les candidats à un emploi (y compris les anciens fonctionnaires de l'Ontario) qui participent à un concours dans un ministère ou à un organisme public rattaché à la Commission doivent divulguer (dans leur lettre d'accompagnement ou leur curriculum vitæ) un emploi occupé antérieurement au sein de la fonction publique de l'Ontario. Les renseignements divulgués doivent comprendre les postes occupés, les dates d'emploi et, le cas échéant, toutes restrictions en vigueur limitant leur réemploi dans la fonction publique de l'Ontario. Les restrictions en vigueur peuvent comprendre des restrictions de temps ou liées à des ministères en particulier, et elles peuvent empêcher d'offrir à un ancien employé un emploi au sein de la fonction publique de l'Ontario pendant une certaine période (p. ex., un an) ou dans un certain ministère (pendant une période prédéterminée ou indéfiniment). Les circonstances entourant le départ d'un employé seront prises en considération avant qu'une offre d'emploi ne lui soit faite.
Rappel : La date limite de candidature est le lundi 29 janvier 2024 23h59min HNE. Les candidatures reçues en retard seront refusées.

Nous vous remercions de l'intérêt que vous portez à ce poste. Cependant, nous communiquerons avec vous uniquement dans le cadre du processus de présélection ou pour vous convoquer à une entrevue.

All Ontario Public Service external job advertisements are posted in English and French. To confirm the language requirements of a job, check the "language of position" information at the top of each job ad. For all positions, candidates will be assessed in English, the business language of the Ontario Public Service. For English/French designated bilingual positions, candidates will also be assessed through French-language proficiency testing.

Toutes les offres d'emploi externes de la fonction publique de l'Ontario sont affichées en anglais et en français. Pour connaître les exigences linguistiques, vérifiez les renseignements sur la « langue du poste » figurant dans le haut de chaque offre d'emploi. Pour tous les postes, l'évaluation des candidates et candidats se fera en anglais, la langue usuelle de la fonction publique de l'Ontario. En ce qui concerne les postes désignés bilingues, la maîtrise du français des candidates et candidats sera également évaluée.

La fonction publique de l'Ontario est un employeur inclusif.
Toute adaptation nécessaire sera réalisée conformément au Code des droits de la personne de l'Ontario.
À noter : http://www.gojobs.gov.on.ca est l'unique site Web qui accepte des candidatures en ligne pour un poste dans la fonction publique de l'Ontario.

You must enable JavaScript in your browser to access full functionality on the OPS Careers website.

Vous devez activer JavaScript dans votre navigateur pour avoir accès à toutes les fonctionnalités du site Carrières dans la FPO.


Ontario Logo / Logo de l'Ontario
This site is maintained by the Government of Ontario
Ce site est mis à jour par le gouvernement de l'Ontario

Privacy | Important Notices
Confidentialité | Avis importants

© Queen's Printer for Ontario, 2007
© Imprimeur de la Reine pour l'Ontario, 2007