Apply By: Monday, February 5, 2024 11:59 pm EST
Competition Status: Application Screening

Approximately 726 individuals applied for this opportunity.

We are screening ALL applications received on or before the closing date and rating them against the qualifications outlined in the job ad. Applicants whose resume and cover letter best demonstrate how they meet the qualifications to do the job will be invited to continue in the hiring process.

To learn about our recruitment process, visit our Hiring Process.

Visitor Care Associate

Organization:
Ontario Science Centre
Division:
External Relations Branch - Visitor Services Department
City:
Toronto
Language of Position(s):
English
Job Term:
1 Temporary - up to 12 months
Job Code:
04OAD - Office Administration 04
Salary:
$22.65 - $26.18 Per Hour*
*Indicates the salary listed as per the OPSEU Collective Agreement.
Posting Status:
Open
Job ID:
210504
The Opportunity:
Guided by our mission to inspire passion for the human adventure of discovery, the Centre engages visitors in lifelong learning, is a vital link in the education and innovation ecosystems and a convener of public dialogue about science, technology, and society. The Centre welcomes 900,000 visitors each year and offers hands-on experiences and insights into science and technology that help visitors of all ages understand and contribute to the world around us.

Note: The number of positions to be filled: up to 10 Visitor Care Associates

OPS Commitment to Diversity, Inclusion, Accessibility, and Anti-Racism:

We are committed to build a workforce that reflects the communities we serve and to promote a diverse, anti-racist, inclusive, accessible, merit-based, respectful and equitable workplace.

We invite all interested individuals to apply and encourage applications from people with disabilities, Indigenous, Black, and racialized individuals, as well as people from a diversity of ethnic and cultural origins, sexual orientations, gender identities and expressions.

Visit the OPS Anti-Racism Policy and the OPS Diversity and Inclusion Blueprint pages to learn more about the OPS commitment to advance racial equity, accessibility, diversity, and inclusion in the public service.

We offer employment accommodation across the recruitment process and all aspects of employment consistent with the requirements of Ontario's Human Rights Code. Refer to the "How to apply" section if you require a disability-related accommodation.

What can I expect to do in this role?

The Ontario Science Centre is seeking motivated and skilled individuals to provide caring, warm, and friendly service to our visitors. The successful candidate will be a customer service specialist who can provide cashier services and group admission in a fast-paced service environment while responding to general customer service inquiries. In addition, the successful candidate will work as a parking attendant and auditorium/theatre usher and provide support for internal client events and programs including Membership, Facility Rentals, Science Engagement and School Programs.

Please note: These positions are irregularly scheduled for 0-36.25 hours per week with no guaranteed minimum. Hours are scheduled on an as-needed basis and shifts may include working outdoors. Work on weekends, holidays and evenings may also be required, in accordance with Science Centre's operating hours and special events/after-hours schedule The Ontario Science Centre is open 364 days per year. Specifically, applicants will need a minimum availability of two weekdays (Wed-Fri) plus weekends.

How do I qualify?

Mandatory

• Minimum availability- Weekends, holidays, evenings and at least two weekdays.

Customer Service Skills

• Experience providing in-person, front counter customer service responding to inquiries, providing advice and information, and resolving customer issues in a high-volume environment
• Excellent customer service skills and proven commitment to visitor care
• Ability to demonstrate a caring, warm and friendly approach to customer service applying your knowledge of accessible, engaging and supportive customer interactions, in keeping with the service standards of the Ontario Science Centre.
• Strong oral communication skills to communicate clearly, politely, enthusiastically and persuasively over the phone and in person.
• Tact and diplomacy applied across service channels, which include the Box Office, parking, theatres and auditoriums, and on the floor greeting and engaging visitors.

Collaboration, Organizational Skills and Attention to Detail

• Strong collaboration & interpersonal skills to interact effectively with other team members in discussing and resolving service challenges and issues together to ensure operational requirements are met.
• Flexibility and multi-tasking skills and the ability to quickly shift focus in a fast-paced service and sales environment.
• Acute attention to transaction detail ensuring accurate recording/entry of confidential customer sales data and subscription information.

Technical Skills

• Proven ability with respect to front-line sales and operating a computerized ticketing point of sale system.
• Excellent knowledge of cash handling policies and balancing procedures
• Math skills to ensure precise transactions and appropriate tracking, records, corrections, in a ticketing database environment

Problem Solving and Analytical Skills

• Demonstrated analytical and problem-solving skills to probe for information, assess situations and determine appropriate course of action
• Effectively analyze information to determine the underlying needs of the customer beyond those that may have been initially expressed
• Demonstrate good judgment and a positive attitude when interacting with internal and external stakeholders

Additional Information:

Address:
  • 1 English Temporary, duration up to 12 months, 770 Don Mills Rd, Toronto, Toronto Region
Compensation Group:
Ontario Public Service Employees Union
Schedule:
3.7
Category:
Customer and Client Services
Posted on:
Monday, January 22, 2024
Please be advised that the results of this competition may be used to form an eligibility list of qualified candidates to potentially fill future vacancies represented by the Ontario Public Service Employees Union (OPSEU). In accordance with the Collective Agreement, eligibility lists are shared with OPSEU representatives. By applying to this competition, you are providing consent that your name may be shared with OPSEU representatives.
All external applicants (including former employees of the Ontario Public Service) applying to a competition in a ministry or Commission public body must disclose (either in the cover letter or resume) previous employment with the Ontario Public Service. Disclosure must include positions held, dates of employment and any active restrictions as applicable from being rehired by the Ontario Public Service. Active restrictions can include time and/or ministry-specific restrictions currently in force, and may preclude a former employee from being offered a position with the Ontario Public Service for a specific time period (e.g. one year), or from being offered a position with a specific ministry (either for a pre-determined time period or indefinitely). The circumstances around an employee's exit will be considered prior to an offer of employment.
Remember: The deadline to apply is Monday, February 5, 2024 11:59 pm EST. Late applications will not be accepted.

We thank you for your interest. Only those selected for further screening or an interview will be contacted.

All Ontario Public Service external job advertisements are posted in English and French. To confirm the language requirements of a job, check the "language of position" information at the top of each job ad. For all positions, candidates will be assessed in English, the business language of the Ontario Public Service. For English/French designated bilingual positions, candidates will also be assessed through French-language proficiency testing.

Toutes les offres d'emploi externes de la fonction publique de l'Ontario sont affichées en anglais et en français. Pour connaître les exigences linguistiques, vérifiez les renseignements sur la « langue du poste » figurant dans le haut de chaque offre d'emploi. Pour tous les postes, l'évaluation des candidates et candidats se fera en anglais, la langue usuelle de la fonction publique de l'Ontario. En ce qui concerne les postes désignés bilingues, la maîtrise du français des candidates et candidats sera également évaluée.

The Ontario Public Service is an inclusive employer.
Accommodation is available under the Ontario's Human Rights Code .
Note: The only website where you can apply on-line for positions with the Ontario Public Service is http://www.gojobs.gov.on.ca

You must enable JavaScript in your browser to access full functionality on the OPS Careers website.

Vous devez activer JavaScript dans votre navigateur pour avoir accès à toutes les fonctionnalités du site Carrières dans la FPO.


Ontario Logo / Logo de l'Ontario
This site is maintained by the Government of Ontario
Ce site est mis à jour par le gouvernement de l'Ontario

Privacy | Important Notices
Confidentialité | Avis importants

© Queen's Printer for Ontario, 2007
© Imprimeur de la Reine pour l'Ontario, 2007

Postulez d'ici: le lundi 5 février 2024 23h59min HNE
Étapes Du Concours : Examen des candidatures

Environ 726 personnes ont posé leur candidature à ce concours.

Nous trions TOUTES les candidatures reçues avant et jusqu'à la date de clôture, puis nous les classons en fonction des compétences stipulées sur l'avis d'emploi. Les candidats dont le curriculum vitae et la lettre d'accompagnement font état de compétences correspondant le mieux aux exigences du poste seront invités a poursuivre le processus d'embauche.

Pour en savoir plus sur ce dernier, consultez les Processus d'embauche.

Agent d'accueil des visiteurs

Organisme:
Centre des sciences de l'Ontario
Division:
Relations extérieures des services aux visiteurs
Ville:
Toronto
Langue du ou des postes:
anglais
Conditions:
1 Temporaire(s) - jusqu'à 12 mois
Code du poste:
04OAD - Personnel de bureau 04
Salaire:
22,65 $ - 26,18 $ de l'heure*
*Indique la rémunération énumérée selon la convention collective conclue avec le SEFPO.
Type de concours:
Ouvert
Numéro du concours:
210504
L'occasion :
Guidé par notre mission d'inspirer la passion pour l'aventure humaine de la découverte, le Centre des sciences plonge les visiteurs dans l'apprentissage permanent, est un maillon essentiel des écosystèmes de l'éducation et de l'innovation et est un organisateur de dialogue public sur la science, la technologie et la société. Le Centre accueille 900 000 visiteurs chaque année. Il offre des expériences pratiques et des éclairages sur la science et la technologie qui aident les visiteurs de tous âges à comprendre le monde qui nous entoure et à y contribuer.

Remarque : Le nombre de postes à pourvoir est de 10 agents d'accueil des visiteurs

Engagement de la FPO à l'égard de la diversité, de l'inclusion, de l'accessibilité et de la lutte contre le racisme :

Nous sommes résolus à bâtir une main-d'œuvre représentative des gens que nous servons, de même qu'à promouvoir la diversité, l'antiracisme, l'inclusion, l'accessibilité, le mérite, le respect et l'équité en milieu de travail.

Nous invitons toutes les personnes intéressées à postuler, tout particulièrement les personnes handicapées, autochtones, noires, racisées, de diverses origines ethniques et culturelles, de diverses orientations sexuelles et de diverses identités et expressions de genre.

Rendez-vous sur les pages présentant la Politique de la FPO pour la lutte contre le racisme et le Plan directeur pour l'inclusion et la diversité au sein de la FPO pour en savoir plus sur son engagement à l'égard de l'égalité raciale, de l'accessibilité, de la diversité et de l'inclusion dans la fonction publique.

Nous offrons des mesures d'adaptation des emplois tout au long du processus de recrutement et pour tout ce qui touche l'emploi, conformément au Code des droits de la personne de l'Ontario. Si vous avez besoin que l'on prenne des mesures d'adaptation liées à un handicap, veuillez vous reporter aux instructions ci-dessous.

Quelles seront mes fonctions dans ce poste?

Le Centre des sciences de l'Ontario est à la recherche de personnes motivées et qualifiées pour fournir un service bienveillant, chaleureux et amical à nos visiteurs. Le candidat retenu sera un spécialiste du service à la clientèle déterminé à fournir des services de caissier et de visites de groupes dans un environnement de service évoluant à un rythme rapide, tout en répondant aux questions générales des clients. De plus, le candidat retenu travaillera en tant que préposé au stationnement et placeur de salle de spectacles et d'auditorium pour soutenir les événements et programmes des clients internes, notamment les adhésions, la location d'installations, l'engagement scientifique et les programmes scolaires.

Remarque : Il s'agit de postes à horaire irrégulier, de 0 à 36,25 heures par semaine, sans garantie d'un minimum d'heures de travail. Les horaires sont établis en fonction des besoins et le candidat peut être amené à travailler à l'extérieur pendant son quart de travail. Le candidat devra peut-être travailler les fins de semaine, les jours fériés et le soir, conformément aux heures d'ouverture du Centre et au calendrier des événements spéciaux ou se déroulant en dehors des heures d'ouverture. Le Centre des sciences de l'Ontario est ouvert 364 jours par an. Plus précisément, les candidats devront être disponibles au moins deux jours de semaine (du mercredi au vendredi) et la fin de semaine.

À quelles exigences dois-je répondre?

Ce qui est obligatoire :

• Disponibilité minimale : fins de semaine, jours fériés, soirs et au moins deux jours de semaine.

Compétences en service à la clientèle

• Expérience dans la prestation de services à la clientèle en personne, au comptoir; répondre aux demandes de renseignements en fournissant des conseils et des renseignements et en résolvant les problèmes de la clientèle dans un environnement à forte affluence.
• Excellentes compétences en matière de service à la clientèle et engagement avéré en faveur de l'accueil des visiteurs.
• Vous adoptez une approche bienveillante, chaleureuse et amicale du service à la clientèle en appliquant vos connaissances en matière d'interactions accessibles, solidaires et positives avec les clients, conformément aux normes de service du Centre des sciences de l'Ontario.
• Excellentes aptitudes pour la communication orale en vue d'interagir clairement, poliment, avec enthousiasme et de manière convaincante au téléphone et en personne.
• Faire preuve de tact et de diplomatie à l'échelle de tous les canaux de service, notamment la billetterie, le stationnement, les théâtres et les auditoriums, et sur le terrain, pour accueillir et mobiliser les visiteurs.

Esprit de collaboration, sens de l'organisation et souci du détail

• Solides compétences interpersonnelles et en collaboration permettant d'interagir efficacement avec les autres membres de l'équipe pour aborder et résoudre l'ensemble des défis et des problèmes liés aux services afin de garantir le respect des exigences opérationnelles.
• Souplesse, capacité à mener plusieurs tâches de front et à changer rapidement d'orientation dans un environnement de service et de vente évoluant à un rythme rapide.
• Porter une attention particulière aux transactions afin de garantir l'exactitude des données confidentielles consignées ou saisies relatives aux ventes et aux abonnements des clients.

Compétences techniques

• Capacité éprouvée pour la vente de première ligne et l'exploitation d'un système informatisé de billetterie pour point de vente.
• Excellente connaissance des politiques de gestion des liquidités et des procédures d'équilibrage.
• Compétences en mathématiques pour assurer l'exactitude des transactions précises, du suivi, des dossiers et des corrections dans un système de base de données de billetterie.

Résolution de problèmes et compétences analytiques

• Avoir des capacités d'analyse et de résolution de problèmes pour rechercher des renseignements, évaluer les situations et de déterminer le plan d'action approprié.
• Analyser efficacement les informations afin de déterminer les besoins sous-jacents de la clientèle au-delà de ceux exprimés initialement.
• Faire preuve de discernement et adopter une attitude positive dans les relations avec les intervenants internes et externes.

Renseignements supplémentaires:

Adresse:
  • 1 anglais Temporaire(s), durée jusqu'à 12 mois, 770 DON MILLS RD, Toronto, Région Toronto
Groupe de rémunération:
Syndicat des employées et employés de la fonction publique de l'Ontario
Horaire:
3.7
Catégorie:
Services à la clientèle
Date de publication:
le lundi 22 janvier 2024
Sachez que les résultats de ce concours pourraient servir à établir une liste d'admissibilité de candidats qualifiés à occuper de futurs postes vacants, représentés par le Syndicat des employés de la fonction publique de l'Ontario (SEFPO). Conformément à la convention collective, les listes d'admissibilité sont partagées avec les représentants du SEFPO. En participant à ce concours, vous consentez à transmettre votre nom aux représentants du SEFPO.
Tous les candidats à un emploi (y compris les anciens fonctionnaires de l'Ontario) qui participent à un concours dans un ministère ou à un organisme public rattaché à la Commission doivent divulguer (dans leur lettre d'accompagnement ou leur curriculum vitæ) un emploi occupé antérieurement au sein de la fonction publique de l'Ontario. Les renseignements divulgués doivent comprendre les postes occupés, les dates d'emploi et, le cas échéant, toutes restrictions en vigueur limitant leur réemploi dans la fonction publique de l'Ontario. Les restrictions en vigueur peuvent comprendre des restrictions de temps ou liées à des ministères en particulier, et elles peuvent empêcher d'offrir à un ancien employé un emploi au sein de la fonction publique de l'Ontario pendant une certaine période (p. ex., un an) ou dans un certain ministère (pendant une période prédéterminée ou indéfiniment). Les circonstances entourant le départ d'un employé seront prises en considération avant qu'une offre d'emploi ne lui soit faite.
Rappel : La date limite de candidature est le lundi 5 février 2024 23h59min HNE. Les candidatures reçues en retard seront refusées.

Nous vous remercions de l'intérêt que vous portez à ce poste. Cependant, nous communiquerons avec vous uniquement dans le cadre du processus de présélection ou pour vous convoquer à une entrevue.

All Ontario Public Service external job advertisements are posted in English and French. To confirm the language requirements of a job, check the "language of position" information at the top of each job ad. For all positions, candidates will be assessed in English, the business language of the Ontario Public Service. For English/French designated bilingual positions, candidates will also be assessed through French-language proficiency testing.

Toutes les offres d'emploi externes de la fonction publique de l'Ontario sont affichées en anglais et en français. Pour connaître les exigences linguistiques, vérifiez les renseignements sur la « langue du poste » figurant dans le haut de chaque offre d'emploi. Pour tous les postes, l'évaluation des candidates et candidats se fera en anglais, la langue usuelle de la fonction publique de l'Ontario. En ce qui concerne les postes désignés bilingues, la maîtrise du français des candidates et candidats sera également évaluée.

La fonction publique de l'Ontario est un employeur inclusif.
Toute adaptation nécessaire sera réalisée conformément au Code des droits de la personne de l'Ontario.
À noter : http://www.gojobs.gov.on.ca est l'unique site Web qui accepte des candidatures en ligne pour un poste dans la fonction publique de l'Ontario.

You must enable JavaScript in your browser to access full functionality on the OPS Careers website.

Vous devez activer JavaScript dans votre navigateur pour avoir accès à toutes les fonctionnalités du site Carrières dans la FPO.


Ontario Logo / Logo de l'Ontario
This site is maintained by the Government of Ontario
Ce site est mis à jour par le gouvernement de l'Ontario

Privacy | Important Notices
Confidentialité | Avis importants

© Queen's Printer for Ontario, 2007
© Imprimeur de la Reine pour l'Ontario, 2007